Workshop

1 / Dance Performance Research Lab

Zinzi Buchanan, Alice Chauchat, Hana Erdman, Keith Hennessy, Jassem Hindi

In the frame of Winter Tanz 2014/15

This lab is about collaborative play, failure, ritual, and performance. “The state is a condition, a certain relationship between human beings, a mode of behavior; we destroy it by contracting other relationships, by behaving differently toward one another...” Gustav Landauer
 
Keith says: I'm thinking about collaboration, lack of continuity, and multiplicity as modes of working-making-observing-sharing. I'm thinking about our shared histories in immersive live/work contexts, at Ponderosa, in Turbulence, and in softening the demand for production and reproduction...
Hana says: I'm thinking of simple practices with the potential for layering on top of each other. I'm thinking about precision and specificity of placement of bodies and objects in the face of group performance/experience as ritual. And I'm thinking about bodies that are dressed and exquisite and prepped for something important.
Bring costumes, insight, questions, willingness, resistance, objects, and friends, or not.

Day one will involve two 3-hour sessions with a 1 hour lunch break.
Day two will be an epic 7-hour dis/continuous process. Bring food to share and/or survive.
Zinzi Buchanan experiments with social taboos, power relationships and intimacy through anus art, fake-witchcraft, drag shows and group ceremonies. Focusing her research in sensation she searches for greater fluidity of boundaries in her inter-personal and non-human interactions.

Alice Chauchat is a choreographer, dancer, assistant, teacher, etc. She choreographs mostly in collaboration with other artists and co-developed numerous platforms for the production and exchange of knowledge in the performing arts (everybodystoolbox, PAF, praticable). From 2010-12, she was Co-Artistic Director for Les Laboratoires d'Aubervilliers. Recently, her choreographic practice has been geared towards processing the knowledge and complexity of collaborative practices into an aesthetic experience. www.alicechauchat.net

Hana Lee Erdman is interested in the spaces between overlapping bodies, sounds, objects and things. She wants to see what and how we can do together in order to create potential for transformative experiences through subtle and subversive shifts of power.
Keith Hennessy is a dancing performer, choreographer, teacher and activist based in San Francisco. His interdisciplinary research engages improvisation, ritual, and public action as tools for investigating political realities.
Jassem Hindi participates to the construction of political poems, sharing a hybrid strategy made out of broken body practices, broken objects practices and broken sound practices - steeped in raw sound material, nervous bodies and installations.
-
Möckernstr. 68, 10965 Berlin With movement and performance experience
In English
Prices 140 € ( 115 € * )
* Early Bird Price: Applies on arrival of the full workshop fee on our account by 27.11.2014
Foto: David Visnijc

Workshop

1 / Dance Performance Research Lab

Zinzi Buchanan, Alice Chauchat, Hana Erdman, Keith Hennessy, Jassem Hindi

Im Rahmen von Winter Tanz 2014/15

Ein Lab zu den Themen kollaboratives Spiel, Scheitern, Ritual und Performance.
„Der Staat ist ein Verhältnis, ist eine Beziehung zwischen den Menschen, eine Art sich zu verhalten; und man zerstört ihn, indem man andere Beziehungen eingeht, indem man sich anders zueinander verhält...“ (Gustav Landauer)

Keith sagt, „Ich denke an Kollaboration, an das Fehlen von Kontinuität und Vielfältigkeit als Mittel zum Arbeiten-Herstellen-Beobachten-Teilen. Ich denke an unsere gemeinsamen Erfahrungen in Arbeits- und Lebensumfeldern, die allumfassend sind, in Ponderosa, in der Performance „Turbulence“, und an einen weicheren Umgang mit dem Anspruch an Produktion und Reproduktion.“
Hana sagt, „ Ich denke an einfache Praktiken, die sich wie Schichten übereinander legen können. Ich denke an Präzision und das genaue Platzieren von Körpern und Objekten im Kontext von Gruppenperformance/Erfahrung als Ritual. Und ich denke an Körper, die für etwas ganz besonderes herausgeputzt und vorzüglich und außerordentlich vorbereitet sind.
Bringt Kostüme, Einsichten, Fragen, Bereitwilligkeit, Widerstand, Objekte, Freunde, oder auch nicht.

Tag 1 sind zwei 3-stündige Sessions mit 1 Stunde Mittagspause.
Tag 2 ist ein episch 7 Stunden unstetig andauernder Prozess. Bringt Essen zum Teilen und/oder Überleben.
Zinzi Buchanan experimentiert mit sozialen Tabus, Machtbeziehungen und Intimität durch Anus-Kunst, 'fake' Hexerei, Drag Shows und Gruppenzeremonien. Ihre Recherche konzentriert sich auf Empfindung. Sie sucht nach fließenden Grenzen in ihren zwischenmenschlichen und nicht-menschlichen Interaktionen.

Alice Chauchat ist Choreografin, Tänzerin, Assistentin, Lehrerin u.v.m. Zumeist choreografiert sie in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Künstler*innen und hat zahlreiche Plattformen für Produktion und Wissenstransfer in den darstellenden Künsten mitbegründet (everybodystoolbox, PAF, praticable). 2010-12 war sie künstlerische Ko-Leiterin von Les Laboratoires d'Aubervilliers. Seit einiger Zeit richtet sich ihr Arbeitsschwerpunkt auf die Umwandlung von Wissen und Komplexität kollaborativer Praxis in ästhetische Erfahrung. www.alicechauchat.net

Hana Lee Erdman interessiert sich für die Räume zwischen sich überlappenden Körpern, Klängen, Objekten und Dingen. Sie will sehen, was und wie wir gemeinsam tun können, um durch subtile und subversive Machtverschiebungen das Potential für transformative Erfahrungen entstehen zu lassen.
Keith Hennessy ist ein in San Francisco lebender tanzender Performer, Choreograph, Lehrer und Aktivist. Seine interdisziplinäre Recherche umfasst Improvisation, Ritual und öffentliche Aktion als Werkzeuge, um politische Realitäten zu untersuchen.
Jassem Hindi beteiligt sich an der Entwicklung von politischen Gedichten. Er arbeitet mit einer hybriden Strategie, die aus zerbrochenen Körperpraktiken, zerbrochenen Objekten und zerbrochenen Klangpraktiken besteht und von rohem Klangmaterial, nervösen Körpern und Installationen durchdrungen ist.
-
Möckernstr. 68, 10965 Berlin Mit Bewegungs- und Performance-Erfahrung
Sprache: Englisch
Kosten 140 € ( 115 € * )
* Frühbucherrabatt: Gilt bei Eingang der Gesamtzahlung bis 27.11.2014
Foto: David Visnijc