Workshop

1 / Dancemaker Lab - Visible Undercurrent

Eszter Gál, Peter Pleyer

In the frame of Oster Tanz 2015

Impro – Performance – History

The lab will combine dancing, watching, reading, talking and dancing. Confronting your own interest in dancing and dance-making with examples from the recent past of dance-making will widen your personal foundation of possibilities and strengthen courage to continue to develop your own “language” in the present and future. Following the research of the performance project "Visible Undercurrent", we will look at the influences of dance-artists and choreographers, that developed their "language" in the early 1990s in New York, giving a big influence onto the European dance scene through teaching at the SNDO Amsterdam and EDDC Arnhem. The development of somatic practices for performance, improvisation and choreographic strategies will be explored as we meet the work of Eva Karczag, Jennifer Monson, Stephanie Skura, Ishmael Housten-Jones and Mary Overlie a.o.

Eszter Gál and Peter Pleyer both graduated in 1994 at EDDC and since then they have been collaborating in the field of Contemporary Dance making and teaching as well as participating in International Festivals. They have been involved in the program of P.O.R.C.H. – in Stolzenhagen Ponderosa – since 2010 coaching young dancemakers and co-teaching at ArtEZ Dance Academy Arnhem in 2013. .

2. & 3.4.15   16:00   open studio/showing
On 4. & 5.4. Uferstudio 14 will be available for participants' own rehearsals: 10€ per Tag.
Eszter Gál, Budapest. Dancer, teacher, performer, currently teaches at the University of Theater and Film Arts in Budapest, co-directs the program of the Kontakt Budapest Studio and has been organizing the annual International Improvisation Festival in Budapest since 2002. She is a certified Skinner Releasing Technique and a member of the mixed ability Company, called Tánceánia in Budapest. She has been part of EU funded International projects on documenting Contemporary Dance Education (IDOCDE / LEAP).The core of her interest is somatic-based movement research (PhD studies), improvisation performance and community work for dance education.

Peter Pleyer studied at the European Dance Development Centre (EDDC) in Arnhem before working with Yoshiko Chuma and Mark Tompkins as a dancer and choreographic assistant. He has lived in Berlin since 2000. From 2007 to 2014, he was Artistic Director of the Tanztage Berlin and from 2012 to 2014, a member of the Sophiensæle team. His interest as a choreographer and performer, dramaturge and coach, lies in finding new methods of integrating dance training, composition and improvisation into choreographic processes, such as, e.g., in the lecture-performance “Choreographing Books“ or in “Visible Undercurrent“ (2014). He teaches at various colleges and festivals in Europe and contributed to establishing a university course in Contemporary Dance in Berlin.

-
Uferstr. 23, 13357 Berlin Level: experience in dance, performance or dramaturgy
Language: English
Prices 150 € ( 120 € * )
* Early Bird Price: Applies on arrival of the full workshop fee on our account by 12.03.2015
Foto: KNI

Workshop

1 / Dancemaker Lab - Visible Undercurrent

Eszter Gál, Peter Pleyer

Im Rahmen von Oster Tanz 2015

Impro – Performance – History 

Wir werden in diesem Lab tanzen, schauen, lesen, reden und tanzen. Das eigene Interesse am zeitgenössischen Tanz mit Beispielen aus der nahen Vergangenheit zu konfrontieren, wird das Fundament unserer Möglichkeiten als Tanzschaffende erweitern und uns ermutigen, eine eigene “Sprache” für den Tanz der Gegenwart und Zukunft zu entwickeln. Dem Research des Performance-Projekts "Visible Undercurrent" folgend, werden wir uns mit der Arbeit von TänzerInnen und ChoreografInnen beschäftigen, die ihre "Sprache" in den frühen 1990er Jahren in New York entwickelten und durch ihren Unterricht am SNDO Amsterdam und EDDC Arnhem einen großen Einfluss auf die europäische Tanzszene hatten. Die Entwicklung von somatischen Praktiken für Performance, Improvisation und choreographische Strategien werden anhand von Arbeiten von Eva Karczag, Jennifer Monson, Stephanie Skura, Ismael Housten-Jones und Mary Overlie u.a. untersucht.

Eszter Gál und Peter Pleyer schlossen beide 1994 ihre Tanzausbildung am EDDC/Arnhem ab. Seitdem arbeiten sie eng zusammen, gemeinsamer Unterricht in verschiedenen internationalen Festivals in Europa, z.B im Kontakt Budapest Festival, P.O.R.C.H./ Ponderosa Stolzenhagen und co-teaching an der ArtEZ Tanzakdemie Arnhem in 2013.

2. & 3.4.15   16:00   open studio/showing
Am 4. & 5.4. steht das Uferstudio 14 für eigene Proben zur Verfügung; Unkostenbeitrag 10€ pro Tag.
Eszter Gál, Budapest. Tänzerin, Lehrerin und Performerin, unterrichtet an der Universität für Theater und Filmkunst in Budapest, leitet das Kontakt Budapest Studio und organisiert das internationale Improvisations Festival Kontakt Budapest seit 2002. Sie ist zertifizierte Skinner Releasing Technique Lehrerin und Mitglied der mixed-ability Tanzkompanie, Tánceánia in Budapest. Sie arbeitet bei den von der EU geförderten Projekten zur Dokumentation Zeitgenössischer Tanzpädagogik (IDOCDE / LEAP). Hauptfokus ihres Interesses ist somatisch basierte Bewegungsforschung (PhD Level), Improvisation in Performance und Community-Arbeit für Tanzpädagogik.

Peter Pleyer studierte am European Dance Development Centre (EDDC) in Arnheim. Er arbeitete als Tänzer und choreografischer Assistent mit Yoshiko Chuma und Mark Tompkins. Seit 2000 lebt er in Berlin. Von 2007 bis 2014 war er künstlerischer Leiter der Tanztage Berlin und von 2012 bis 2014 Mitarbeiter im Team der Sophiensæle. Sein Interesse als Choreograf und Performer sowie als Dramaturg und Coach liegt darin, neue Methoden des Tanztrainings, der Komposition und Improvisation in choreografische Prozesse zu integrieren, wie z. B. in der Lecture-Performance „Choreographing Books“ oder in „Visible Undercurrent“ (2014). Er unterrichtet an verschiedenen Hochschulen und Festivals in Europa und half in Berlin beim Aufbau eines Hochschulstudiums für zeitgenössischen Tanz.

-
Uferstr. 23, 13357 Berlin Level: Erfahrung in Tanz, Performance oder Dramaturgie
Unterrichtssprache: Englisch
Kosten 150 € ( 120 € * )
* Frühbucherrabatt: Gilt bei Eingang der Gesamtzahlung bis 12.03.2015
Foto: KNI