Workshop

9 / Waves and Grooves

Janos Crecelius, Francesca Pedullà

In the frame of Winter Tanz 2015-16

Undulation: A regular rising and falling, or movement to alternating sides; movement in waves. A wavelike form, outline, or appearance. One of a series of waves or wavelike segments.

The wave form, or undulation, is possibly the oldest signature of all biological life. Everything in this universe seems to move in gradually shifting cycles, suggesting that all life has formed from this process of altering alternation. The human spine is an excellent example: a composite of waves, a study in intervals and scales. We could think of dancing as awareness of and playing with waves. Music can also be understood as an auditory map of pulsation, the conscious composition of frequency, a way of allowing us to perceive an accented phase of the wave. Change the accent, and the quality of time changes, inspiring a different physical and expressive response. Working from a strong technical basis rooted in West African dance and music, this workshop invites movers to explore the dialogue between inner and outer realities, and investigate ways of responding and organizing the individual and the collective body. We will propose games that illustrate aspects of music theory, engage in somatic and rhythmical explorations and guided improvisation. And we will dance together.

Interview with Francesca Pedullà about the Workshop

Janos Crecelius is a percussionist, composer and performer. He combines a deep knowledge of West African music and its connections to the dance with an extraordinary musical presence and sensitivity. His talent and his passion are reflected in numerous projects: dance performances, plays, various music formations. As a renowned dance accompanist, he has worked for Koffi Koko, Elsa Wolliaston, Tchekpo Dan Agbetou, Seydou Boro, Germaine Acogny and many others. He gives percussion lessons for children and adults in his hometown Berlin as well as in various cities in Europe.

Francesca Pedullà is an independent artist-curator and Axis Syllabus teacher. She graduated in History of Theatre and Performing Arts. She holds a diploma as a professor of African Dance Expression - Centre Artistique 6-éme Parallel - FEIDA Bordeaux, directed by Koffi Koko. Since 1998 she has spent several months out of the year living in Benin, who's rich culture has been a profound artistic inspiration. Since 2005, she develops artistic works and cultural cooperation projects as choreographer and artistic director in both Europe and Benin. Her latest works were presented at the Institute Français de Cotonou (Benin), FITHEB (Benin), Teatro della Tosse (Genoa), Teatro dell' Archivolto (Genoa), TroisC L (Luxembourg), Festival Biennale Passage 012 (Bielefeld), Tanzfabrik Berlin, Haus der Berliner Festspiele (Berlin) a.o. Currently based in Berlin, she choreographs, performs and teaches throughout Europe, the USA, Canada, Israel, Brazil and Benin. www.francescapedulla.org

-
Möckernstr. 68, 10965 Berlin

Live music support: Clemens Ritter

Level: open

Language: English

Prices 140 € ( 120 € * )
* Early Bird Price: Applies on arrival of the full workshop fee on our account by 10.12.2015
Photo: Fabrizio Ruffo

Workshop

9 / Waves and Grooves

Janos Crecelius, Francesca Pedullà

Im Rahmen von Winter Tanz 2015-16

Das Prinzip der Wellenbewegung, oder die Wellenform, ist womöglich die älteste Signatur allen biologischen Lebens. Alles in diesem Universum scheint sich in stetigen Zyklen zu bewegen, jedes Leben ensteht aus dem Prozess des ständigen Wechsels. Die menschliche Wirbelsäule ist ein großartiges Beispiel dafür: Eine Komposition aus Wellen, eine Studie von Intervallen und Maßstäben. Der Tanz verkörpert das Bewußtsein von Wellen und das Spiel mit ihnen. Die Musik ist die hörbare Landkarte von Puls, von der Komposition von Frequenzen, läßt uns die Akzentuierung jeder Welle spüren. Jede kleine Veränderung beeinflußt Ausdruck und Körperlichkeit der Welle, verändert die Zeit. Eng verwurzelt mit dem Tanz und der Musik Westafrikas, liegt der Fokus dieses Workshops auf dem Dialog zwischen inneren und äußeren Realitäten, dem individuellen Ausdruck und Feingefühl in der Beziehung zur Musik. Wir untersuchen Möglichkeiten, mit dem individuellen und dem kollektiven Körper Wellenbewegungen zu erspüren und auf sie zu reagieren. Wir tanzen uns gemeinsam, spielend, durch somatische und rhythmische Erkundungen und Improvisationen.

Interview mit Francesca Pedullà zum Workshop

 

Janos Crecelius ist Percussionist, Komponist und Performer. Er verbindet ein breites Wissen über westafrikanischen Musik und dessen Verbindung zum Tanz mit außergewöhnlicher musikalischer Präsenz und Sensibilität. Seine Talente und Leidenschaften spiegeln sich in zahlreichen Projekten wider: Tanzperformances, Theaterstücke, verschiedene musikalische Formationen. Als tanz-
begleitender Musiker hat er für Koffi Koko, Elsa Wolliaston, Tchekpo Dan Agbetou, Seydou Boro, Germaine Acogny und viele andere gearbeitet. Er unterrichtet Percussion für Kinder und Erwachsene in Berlin und vielen anderen europäischen Städten.

Francesca Pedullà ist freischaffende Künstlerin, Kuratorin und Axis Syllabus Lehrerin. Sie hat Geschichte des Theaters und der Darstellenden Kunst studiert und erhielt ein Diplom als Dozentin für Afrikanischen Ausdruckstanz am Centre Artistique 6-éme Parallel - FEIDA Bordeaux unter der Leitung von Koffi Koko. Seit 1998 verbringt sie jedes Jahr einige Monate in Benin, dessen reiche Kultur eine wichtige Inspirationsquelle ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit ist. Seit 2005 entwickelt sie Kunstprojekte und kulturelle Kooperationen als Choreografin und künstlerische Leiterin in Europa und Benin. Ihre neusten Arbeiten wurden u.a. am Institute Français de Cotonou (Benin), FITHEB (Benin), Teatro della Tosse (Genua), Teatro dell' Archivolto (Genua), TroisC L (Luxemburg), Festival Biennale Passage 2012 (Bielefeld), Tanzfabrik Berlin, Haus der Berliner Festspiele (Berlin) gezeigt. Sie lebt in Berlin und choreografiert, performt und unterrichtet in ganz Europa, den USA, Kanada, Brasilien und Benin.  www.francescapedulla.org

-
Möckernstr. 68, 10965 Berlin

Live-Musik Unterstützung: Clemens Ritter

Level: offen

Sprache: Englisch

Kosten 140 € ( 120 € * )
* Frühbucherrabatt: Gilt bei Eingang der Gesamtzahlung bis 10.12.2015
Photo: Fabrizio Ruffo