Workshop

States of Grace

Nancy Stark Smith, Mike Vargas

Contact Improvisation, Embodiment, and Collaboration

Can we access and change physical, energetic, and conceptual states easily and as called for? Can we work from deep somatic absorption and compositional awareness at the same time? In this workshop we’ll be engaging with the full spectrum of dance improvisation work that Nancy and Mike are currently exploring using Contact Improvisation (CI) as a base. This includes CI technique and practice, improvisation scores (including the Underscore), compositional skills (including Mike’s 86 Aspects of Composition), doing, not doing, detailed listening practice, and discussion. “States of grace” is what can happen when all the balls are in the air at once: solo dancing, contact improvisation, non-CI improvisation, contemplation, composition, listening, performance, knowing, not knowing, and humanity. We’ll experiment with making choices, finding ways to tune our dancing and awareness so we can improvise more consistently with freedom and focus— ready, embodied, articulate, generous, innovative, artful, and compassionate, with and without live music. 

Simple, complex, simple.

A few spaces have become available again in this workshop.

To be considered to take part in this workshop, please send an online registration and a few sentences about your CI experience and your reasons for wanting to attend this workshop to: duflot@tanzfabrik-berlin.de. Thank you. 

Although levels in CI are difficult to assess, your CI practice should comfortably include: fluency with falling, rolling, weight taking and giving, being upside down, dancing with disorientation, following a point of contact, working with subtlety (and exertion), and improvising in physical contact. Other background in dance and improvisation a plus.

The (Global!) Underscore is part of the workshop and is happening at Tanzfabrik Wedding - Uferstudios!

Also see events Solo Piano Salon and On Collaboration on 28.6.2016

Nancy Stark Smith first trained as an athlete and gymnast, leading her to study and perform modern and postmodern dance, greatly influenced by the Judson Dance Theater breakthroughs of the 1960s in New York City. She danced in the first performances of contact improvisation in 1972 with Steve Paxton and others and has since been central to its development as dancer, teacher, performer, writer/publisher, and organizer. She has traveled extensively throughout the world teaching and performing contact and other improvised dance work with Paxton and many other favorite dance partners and performance makers, including Ray Chung, Julyen Hamilton, Peter Bingham, Andrew Harwood, Karen Nelson, and musician Mike Vargas. She co-founded Contact Quarterly, an international dance journal in 1975 which she continues to co-edit and produce along with other dance literature. Her work is featured in several books and films, and she has been developing the Underscore, a long-form dance improvisation structure, since 1990. Her first book, Caught Falling: The Confluence of Contact Improvisation, Nancy Stark Smith, and Other Moving Ideas, came out in 2008. She lives in western Massachusetts. www.nancystarksmith.com

Mike Vargas began studying music in 1959. He started specializing in music for dance in 1978. He works as a freelance composer across the USA and internationally performing, teaching, recording, and improvising. For the past 16 years, he has been working around the world with Nancy Stark Smith. He teaches on the faculty of the Smith College dance department. He has released 9 CDs of his music. www.mikevargas.net

Sat - Sun - Mon-Fri -
Möckernstr. 68, 10965 Berlin

Level: For movers with intermediate and advanced level experience in contact improvisation.

Prices 660 € ( 570 € * )
* Early Bird Price: Applies on arrival of the full workshop fee on our account by 02.06.2016
Photo: Ilya Domanov

Workshop

States of Grace

Nancy Stark Smith, Mike Vargas

Contact Improvisation, Verkörperung und Kollaboration

Wie können wir uns körperliche, energetische und konzeptionelle Zustände einfach zugänglich machen? Können wir gleichzeitig mit somatischer Tiefe und Bewusstsein für Komposition arbeiten? Mit diesem Workshop lassen wir uns, von der Basis der Kontaktimprovisation ausgehend, auf das gesamte Spektrum der Tanz Improvisation innerhalb der gemeinsamen Arbeit von Nancy und Mike ein. Dies umfasst CI technik und pRaxis, Improvisationsscores (u.a. die Underscore), Kompositions (u.a. Mike’s 86 Aspects of Composition), Praktiken den Zuhörens, des Gesprächs, des Tuns und des Nichts-Tuns. “States of grace” ist was passieren kann, wenn alle Bälle gleichzeitig in der Luft sind: Solotanz, Improvisation mit und ohne Kontakt, Beobachtung, Komposition, Zuhören, Performance, Wissen, Nicht-Wissen und Menschlichkeit. Wir experimentieren damit, Entscheidungen zu treffen und unsere Wahrnehmung und unseren Tanz auf das Improvisieren mit Freiheit und Fokus einzustimmen – bereit, verkörpert, artikuliert, großzügig, innovativ, künstlerisch und mitfühlend. Mit und ohne Live Musik.

Einfach, Komplex, Einfach.

Es gibt wieder einige wenige Plätze in diesem Workshop.

Bitte schicken Sie eine Online-Anmeldung und einige Sätze zu Ihrer CI-Erfahrung und der Motivation, an diesem Workshop teilzunehmen an: duflot@tanzfabrik-berlin.de. Vielen Dank.

Was das CI-Level betrifft, sollte es Ihnen leicht fallen: zu rollen, zu fallen, Gewicht zu nehmen und zu geben, sich kopfüber zu orientieren und zu bewegen, einem Kontaktpunkt zu folgen, mit Geschicklichkeit (und Anstrengung) und in körperlichem Kontakt zu improvisieren. Weiterer Hintergrund in Tanz und Improvisation ist ein Plus.

Das (Global!) Underscore Wochenende ist Teil des Workshops und findet in der Tanzfabrik Wedding in den Uferstudios statt!

Siehe Veranstaltung Solo Piano Salon und On Collaboration am 28.6.2016

 

Nancy Stark Smith trainierte zunächst als Athletin und Gymnastin, studierte später Modernen und Postmodernen Tanz. Sie war stark beeinflusst von den Entwicklungen des Judson Dance Theater in den 1960ern in New York. Sie tanzte in den ersten Performances der Tanzform Kontaktimprovisation 1972 Steve Paxton und anderen und ist seitdem eine zentrale Figur der Entwicklung der Tanzforma als Tänzerin, Dozentin, Performerin, Autorin/Editorin und Veranstalterin. Sie reiste weltweit zum unterrichten und auftreten und performte Contact und Improvisation mit Paxton und vielen anderen Tanzpartnern wie u.a. Ray Chung, Julyen Hamilton, Peter Bingham, Andrew Harwood, Karen Nelson und dem Musiker Mike Vargas. 1975 war sie  Mitgründerin des internationalen Tanzjournals Contact Quarterly, das sie bis heute, neben weiterer Tanzliteratur, mit herausgibt und publiziert. Ihre Arbeit wird in verschiedenen Büchern und Filmen besprochen, und sie entwickelt seit 1990 die Underscore, ein langes Format einer Tanz Improvisationsscore. Ihr erstes Buch Caught Falling: The Confluence of Contact Improvisation, Nancy Stark Smith, and Other Moving Ideas, wurde 2008 veröffentlicht. Sie lebt im Westen von Massachusetts. www.nancystarksmith.com

Mike Vargas begann 1959 Musik zu studieren und spezialisiert sich seit 1978 auf Musik für Tanz. Er arbeitet als freiberuflicher Komponist in den USA und international. Er performt, unterrichtet, improvisiert und nimmt Alben auf. In den letzten 16 Jahren hat er auf der ganzen Welt mit Nancy Stark Smith gearbeitet. Er ist außerdem Dozent am Smith College dance department. Mike hat bisher 9 Alben mit seiner Musik herausgegeben. www.mikevargas.net

Sa - So - Mo-Fr -
Möckernstr. 68, 10965 Berlin

Level: Für erfahrene und fortgeschrittene Contact – Tänzer.

Kosten 660 € ( 570 € * )
* Frühbucherrabatt: Gilt bei Eingang der Gesamtzahlung bis 02.06.2016
Photo: Ilya Domanov