Workshop

S11 / Gender in Contact Improvisation

Kristin Horrigan

In the frame of Sommer Tanz 2016

Contact Improvisation - What's gender got to do with it?

Contact Improvisation (CI) is an exploration of the movement that is possible when two bodies are in physical contact and sharing weight. Gender is the way we enact our masculinity, femininity, our queerness and even our rejection of societal norms. In theory, contact improvisation is a dance form without gender roles…and yet gender shows up in many subtle ways, shaping our choices. Gender plays a part in how we organize our bodies and relate to space. And we respond to the perceived genders of our dance partners. In this workshop, we will investigate the deeply embodied notions of gender that we carry with us at all times. Let us find out how these ideas and behaviors influence the choices we make in our CI dancing and use this knowledge to clarify and enrich our physical choices.

Interactive Lecture 28.7.2016   15:30

Kristin Horrigan has been a contact improviser since 1998, and she has taught and performed CI around the world in places including the USA, Germany, Denmark, Japan, Australia and Argentina. Kristin holds an MFA in choreography from Ohio State University and is a Professor of Dance and Gender Studies at Marlboro College in Vermont, USA. She also spent ten years directing Dance Generators, an intergenerational dance company, and has choreographed several intergenerational community-based performances in Germany with her collaborator Christa Cocciole.  Kristin’s current research focuses on the intersection of gender and dance, particularly in improvisation and contact improvisation.

Diana Thielen (Assistent) has studied contemporary dance at SEAD in Austria and is a certified Axis Syllabus teacher. She teaches dance, CI and yoga in daily classes, Workshops, Festivals and Intensives around Europe. Diana is a student of education and gender studies and is particularly excited about the political aspect of her academic work. Diana has worked with Kristin already 2015 at the CmC Festival in Göttingen. www.movementactivism.com.

-
Möckernstr. 68, 10965 Berlin

Level: Basic skills in CI
in English
Assistent: Diana Thielen

Prices 170 € ( 145 € * )
* Early Bird Price: Applies on arrival of the full workshop fee on our account by 07.07.2016

Workshop

S11 / Gender in Contact Improvisation

Kristin Horrigan

Im Rahmen von Sommer Tanz 2016

Die Tanzform Kontaktimprovisation (CI) untersucht all die Möglichkeiten von Bewegung, die es gibt, wenn sich zwei Körper in Bewegung und im physischen Kontakt miteinander befinden. Gender (dt. soziales Geschlecht) ist die Art und Weise, in der wir unsere Männlichkeit und Weiblichkeit, queerness oder unsere Ablehnung gegenüber sozialen Normen ausdrücken. Wir erforschen in diesem Workshop in Contact Improvisations-Duetten, Solo- und Gruppenübungen die verkörperten Vorstellungen von Gender, in denen wir alltäglich eingebunden sind. Wie werden unterschiedliche Geschlechtervorstellungen sichtbar, wenn wir Contact tanzen? Wie kann durch das Aufdecken dieser normativen Einflüsse im Tanz mehr Handlungsspielraum entstehen?

Interactive Lecture 28.7.2016   15:30

 

Kristin Horrigan tanzt seit 1998 Contact Improvisation und hat diese Tanzform auf der ganzen Welt unterrichtet und performt, u.a. in den USA, Deutschland, Dänemark, Japan, Australien und Argentinien. Kristin erwarb ihren MFA in Choreographie an der Ohio State University und hält eine Professur für Tanz und Gender Studies am Marlboro College in Vermont, USA. Sie war außerdem zehn Jahre lang künstlerische Leiterin von Dance Generators, einer generationsübergreifenden Tanzcompany, und hat einige Projekte in diesem Bereich in Zusammenarbeit mit der deutschen Künstlerin Christa Cocciole durchgeführt. Kristins jetzige Recherche fokkusiert sich auf den Schnittpunkt von Gender (dt. soziales Geschlecht)und Tanz, insbesondere im Bereich Improvisation und Kontaktimprovisation.

Diana Thielen (Assistenz) hat zeitgenössischen Tanz am SEAD in Österreich studiert und zertifizierte Axis Syllabus Lehrerin. In regulären Klassen unterrichtet Diana Yoga und Tanz in Berlin und CI/Contemporary in europaweiten Workshops, Festivals und Intensives. Sie ist Studentin der Erziehungswissenschaften und Gender Studies ist besonders begeistert von den politischen Aspekt ihrer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit.Diana hat mit Kristin bereits im Jahr 2015 beim CmC Festival in Göttingen gearbeitet. www.movementactivism.com

-
Möckernstr. 68, 10965 Berlin

Level: Grundkenntnisse in Contact Improvisation
in englischer Sprache
Assistenz: Diana Thielen

Kosten 170 € ( 145 € * )
* Frühbucherrabatt: Gilt bei Eingang der Gesamtzahlung bis 07.07.2016