Workshop

W-9 / Move, Touch & Be Moved (Waiting list)

Kirstie Simson

In the frame of Winter Tanz 2016/17

What moves us and why? There is deep inspiration and rigor in a practice of improvisation that posits vulnerability at its heart. Developing the skills to care for, engage, respect and respond to that state of vulnerability gives life and depth to improvisation, making it powerful and transformative. The workshop will include facilitated exercises, open time for play and exploration, movement scores, observations and discussion. Much of the work will be experienced through partnering and connection with others, balanced with solo work and time for processing and reflection. With an aim to develop and tune kinesthetic and perceptual awareness as a means of expanding experience and the grasp of what is available to us when we move.
Kirstie Simson will share her extensive experience of dance improvisation in this workshop. She will share what has kept her inspired in her practices for the last three decades. Kirstie draws from her knowledge of contact improvisation, dance techniques, the Alexander technique, aikido, meditation and her extensive experience of improvisation in performance. Her work explores the huge potential of the body’s response to the primal urge to move, inspired by the energy released through human interaction, physical challenge and a daring to go beyond inherent ideas of limitation.

In the frame of Winter Tanz 2016/17 on the 6.1.17 a Showing with Kirstie Simson, Emmanuelle Pepin, Anna Pietsch and Jeremy Nelson.

Kirstie Simson (UK) draws from her knowledge of contact improvisation, dance techniques, the Alexander technique, aikido, meditation and dedicated spiritual inquiry, and her extensive experience of improvisation in performance. She has worked tirelessly over the course of three decades to share with people the joy of exploring the bodys’ primal urge to move. She feels passionately that liberating our often unquestioned and fearful relationship with our physical intelligence will be an important aspect in the creation of new culture. She currently teaches dance improvisation at the University of Illinois, and facilitates workshops all over the world.

-
Möckernstr. 68, 10965 Berlin

Level: Movement experience
in English

Prices 240 € ( 210 € * )
* Early Bird Price: Applies on arrival of the full workshop fee on our account by 15.12.2016

Workshop

W-9 / Move, Touch & Be Moved (Warteliste)

Kirstie Simson

Im Rahmen von Winter Tanz 2016/17

Was bewegt uns und warum? Improvisation, die Verletzlichkeit zulässt, ermöglicht tiefe Inspiration und Präzision. Die Fähigkeit, diesen Zustand der Verletzlichkeit in sich selbst und in anderen zu respektieren und auf ihn eingehen zu können, lässt kraftvolle und transformative Improvisation entstehen. Durch angeleitete Übungen, freies Tanzen und Bewegungsscores, durch Beobachtung, Diskussion, im Tanzen mit andern und im Solo, können wir diese Verbindungen erfahren, verarbeiten und reflektieren. Ziel ist dabei, unser kinästhetisches Bewusstsein als Mittel zu verstehen, um Erfahrungen zu erweitern und uns das zu greifen, was uns in unserem Tanz direkt zugänglich ist.
In Kirsties Unterricht fließt ihr gesamtes Wissen über Contact Improvisation, verschiedenste Tanztechniken, Aikido, Meditation und ihre langjährige Erfahrung in Improvisation in Performance ein. Aufbauend auf einfache physikalische Prinzipien haben die Teilnehmenden die Möglichkeit, ihre Bewegungserfahrungen und ihr Verständnis für den eigenen Körper zu erkunden. Kirsties Arbeit vermittelt ihre Lebenspraxis und ihr Wissen über diese Kunstform, als eine Art, dem Leben zu begegnen.

Im Rahmen von Winter Tanz 2016/17 findet am 6.1.17 um 18:30 ein Showing mit Kirstie Simson, Emmanuelle Pepin, Anna Pietsch und Jeremy Nelson statt.

Kirstie Simson (USA) ist bekannt für die Vitalität ihrer virtuosen Improvisationen, die Moment für Moment geschaffen werden. Ihr Thema ist Freiheit und sie ist als leitende Figur im Umfeld der Tanzimprovisation bekannt. In den letzten dreißig Jahren hat Kirstie mit vielen Künstlern zusammengearbeitet, die ihr Interesse an Improvisation teilen, u.a. Julyen Hamilton, Steve Paxton, Nancy Stark Smith, Simone Forti, Andrew Harwood, Russell Maliphant, Michael Schumacher, Adam Benjamin und Le Quan Ninh. London Time Out ‘Dance and Performance Award’, Film- Dokumentation über ihre Arbeit von der Regisseurin Katrina McPherson. Sie unterrichtet u.a. an der Universität von Illinois und weltweit.

-
Möckernstr. 68, 10965 Berlin

Level: Bewegungserfahrung
in englischer Sprache

Kosten 240 € ( 210 € * )
* Frühbucherrabatt: Gilt bei Eingang der Gesamtzahlung bis 15.12.2016