Stage

Naming it

Time to Meet · Showing + Talk

David Bloom, Renae Shadler

In the frame of Open Spaces/Sommer Tanz 2017

Naming things not only separates them from one another and gives them identity, but also can bring them into being. Motivated by the generation of meaning in the ‘post-truth’ era, Renae Shadler and David Bloom work with language, movement, sound, and energy to invoke their constantly shifting reality. Working only with what is authentically present, the artists examine the intersections of the personal and political.
“Naming it” includes the showing of a performance duet by Shadler called “And She saw that it was good”, and Blooms research for "The Universe Project’', followed by a discussion with the audience into their shared artistic inquiry.

Concept, performance: Renae Shadler, David Bloom | Sound: Kay Karl | Performance, collaboration: Paweł Dudus, Laura Eva Meuris, David Bloom, Renae Shadler, Mirjam Sögner | Thanks to Nica Berndt-Caccivio.


20.7. “Frei-Raum". Audience format after the performance (in English).

Supported by mapping dance

  • Wedding 4
Uferstr. 23, 13357 Berlin

Free Admission

Photo: Renae Shadler

Bühne

Naming it

Time to Meet · Showing + Talk

David Bloom, Renae Shadler

Im Rahmen von Open Spaces/Sommer Tanz 2017

Das Benennen von Dingen unterscheidet sie nicht nur voneinander und gibt ihnen eine Identität; es kann ihre Existenz auch erst begründen. Inspiriert durch die Entstehung von Bedeutung in der postfaktischen Ära, arbeiten Renae Shadler und David Bloom mit Sprache, Bewegung, Klang und Energie, um eine sich konstant verschiebende Realität heraufzube-schwören. Sie arbeiten nur mit dem, was authentisch und präsent ist, um künstlerisch die Schnittmenge zwischen dem Persönlichen und Politischen auszuloten.
“Naming it” beinhaltet das Showing eines von Shadler geleiteten Duetts mit dem Namen “And She saw that it was good” und Blooms Recherche für “The Universe Project” gefolgt von einem Gespräch mit dem Publikum über ihre gemeinsamen künstlerischen Fragen.

Konzept, Performance: Renae Shadler, David Bloom | Sound: Kay Karl | Performance, Zusammenarbeit: Paweł Dudus, Laura Eva Meuris, David Bloom, Renae Shadler, Mirjam Sögner | Dank an Nica Berndt-Caccivio.


20.7. "Frei-Raum". Publikumsformat im Anschluss an die Vorstellung (in englischer Sprache).

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von mapping dance

  • Wedding 4
Uferstr. 23, 13357 Berlin

Eintritt frei

Photo: Renae Shadler