Workshop

S-09 / Contact Improvisation in Sound

Jamie McCarthy, Rick Nodine

In the frame of Sommer Tanz 2018

Rick’s warm-up mixes improvisational and somatic approaches with set movement material to articulate the soft athletics and multidirectional awareness of Contact Improvisation (CI) in solo movement. Taking responsibility for one’s own weight within one’s own dancing allows CI to be a meeting place for two articulate bodies. Improvisation and set exercises, pedestrian movement and virtuosic dancing will frame a range of explorations - from the slow and meditative to the vigorous and acrobatic. Jamie McCarthy's music and sounds for Rick's class create elevating environments and architectures to move within; shaping the flow of energy in the space in a dynamic, improvisa- tional relationship with the dancers. The sessions will also give a particular focus on awareness of the relationship between sound and movement in improvisation.

Unfortunately this studio is not wheelchair accessible.

Jamie McCarthy (UK) studied music and composition with the composer Gavin Bryars and has worked for many years performing and composing music in a wide variety of situations with a primary focus on music for dance, cross-artform work and collaboration. He has for many years taught music and voice at London Contemporary Dance School and was also lucky enough to spend seven joyful years touring the world as a violinist with Queer Canadian Band the Hidden Cameras.

Rick Nodine (UK) began dancing socially and the first technical form to channel his enthusiasm was Contact Improvisation. He performed through the 90's for British Contemporary dance companies. He started teaching CI at London Contemporary Dance School in 2001, expanding his teaching range to now include composition, performance and voice/movement techniques. As a choreographer Nodine has made work for many contexts, including major Opera houses, small theatres, art galleries, text based theatre, touring dance companies and warehouse parties. As guest teacher Rick has taught in over 30 cities in 11 different countries and has led company class for many companies including Rambert Dance Company, Punchdrunk and DV8.

-
Möckernstr. 68, 10965 Berlin

Level: Movement Experience
In English

Prices 300 € ( 260 € * )
* Early Bird Price: Applies on arrival of the full workshop fee on our account by 05.07.2018
Photo: Steffen Rüttinger

Workshop

S-09 / Contact Improvisation in Sound

Jamie McCarthy, Rick Nodine

Im Rahmen von Sommer Tanz 2018

Ricks Warm-up verbindet improvisatorische und somatische Ansätze mit gesetztem Bewegungs- material, um die weiche Athletik und das multidirektionale Bewusstsein von Contact Improvisation (CI) in Solo-Bewegungen zu artikulieren. Wenn jeder die Verantwortung für das eigene Gewicht innerhalb eines Tanzes übernimmt, wird CI zu einem Treffpunkt zweier artikulierter Körper. Improvi- sation und gesetzte Bewegungssequenzen, Fußgängerbewegung und virtuoser Tanz werden eine Reihe von Explorationen einleiten - von langsam und meditativ bis hin zu kraftvoll und akrobatisch. Jamie McCarthys Musik und Sounds kreieren ganz besondere Umgebungen für Bewegung. Sie lesen und stützen den Energiefluss im Raum, der aus einer dynamischen, improvisatorischen Beziehung zwischen den Tanzenden entsteht. Ein besonderes Augenmerk dieses Workshop liegt auf genau dieser Beziehung zwischen Klang und Bewegung in der Improvisation.

Dieses Studio ist leider nicht rollstuhlgerecht.

Jamie McCarthy (GB) studierte Musik und Komposition bei dem Komponisten Gavin Bryars und hat viele Jahre lang Musik gespielt und komponiert, vor allem mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Musik für Tanz, interdisziplinäre künstlerische Arbeit und Kollaboration. Er hat mehrere Jahre lang Musik und Gesang an der London Contemporary Dance School unterrichtet und hatte das Glück, sieben Jahre als Geiger mit der Queer Canadian Band the Hidden Cameras durch die Welt zu touren.

Rick Nodine (GB). Rick entdeckte sein Interesse für Tanz in Clubs und auf Parties und fand dann in der Contact Improvisation die erste technische Tanzform, um sich weiterzuentwickeln. Er tanzte in den 90er Jahre für verschiedene Britische Zeitgenössische Tanzkompanien und unterrichtet seit 2001 an der London Contemporary Dance School, zunächst CI und inzwischen auch Komposition, Perfor- mance und Stimm- und Bewegungstechniken. Als Choreograf hat er in verschiedensten Kontexten gearbeitet; große Opernhäuser, kleine Theater, Tanzkompanien und Warehouse Parties. Als Gast- dozent hat Rick in über 30 Städten und 11 Ländern und für zahlreiche Kompanien unterrichtet, u.a. Rambert Dance Company, Punchdrunk und DV8.

-
Möckernstr. 68, 10965 Berlin

Level: Bewegungserfahrung
in Englischer Sprache

Kosten 300 € ( 260 € * )
* Frühbucherrabatt: Gilt bei Eingang der Gesamtzahlung bis 05.07.2018
Photo: The Place Prize, n.n.