Workshop

S-08 / Breath, Movement and Artistic Practice

Lisa Densem, Jana Unmüßig

In the frame of Sommer Tanz 2020 - Update coming 5.6.20!

In this workshop Lisa Densem and Jana Unmüßig invite us to spend time with the phenomena of breath, understanding it as an existential process of life and living. Encompassing experiential, conceptual and historical aspects of breath, they will give insight into the holistic endeavor of engaging with one’s breath. The workshop will be grounded in the context of contemporary dance and choreography but is open to those with an artistic practice of any kind. Lisa Densem will share her work on the interrelatedness of breath and movement, deriving her teaching from the breathwork practice, ‘BreathExperience’. Based on Ilse Middendorf, this form of breathwork emphasises the ‘allowing’ breath: allowing the breath to come and go on its own. Jana Unmüßig will introduce possibilities of choreographic procedures that can arise with heightened breath awareness. She will also share a conceptual/historical framework through which to think the phenomena of breath, considering the work of different artists and looking at scholarly research on breath in the second half of 20th century.

Wed 22.7. 15:00
Lecture/Talk with Jana Unmüßig »Re-thinking Breathing in the Context of Expanded Choreography«

Lisa Densem is a dancer/performer from New Zealand who has been working in Berlin since 1999. She was part of the company Sasha Waltz & Guests for many years, and worked on numerous projects, including the trilogy series, “Körper“, “S“, and “Nobody“, as well as a.o. with choreographers like Hanna Hegenscheidt, Laurent Chetouane, Jana Unmüssig, Roni Katz and Sergiu Matis. She also works as a teacher, mentor and choreographer and has just finished a breath therapy education, BreathExperience, based on the work of Ilse Middendorf.

Jana Unmüßig is trained in contemporary dance, choreography and artistic research. Her choreographic work has been presented e.g. at Hebbel am Ufer Berlin, Kampnagel Hamburg, Impulstanz Vienna. In 2018, Jana received a D.A. from Uniarts Helsinki. Currently, she holds a post-doc position at the Center for Artistic Research of Uniarts Helsinki. She lives with her family in Helsinki. More info: www. jana-unmussig.com

-
Möckernstr. 68, 10965 Berlin

Level: Movement experience
In English
Not barrier-free

Prices 240 € ( 210 € * )
* Early Bird Price: Applies on arrival of the full workshop fee on our account by 02.07.2020
Photo: Bea Rodrigues

Workshop

S-08 / Breath, Movement and Artistic Practice

Lisa Densem, Jana Unmüßig

Im Rahmen von Sommer Tanz 2020 - Update am 5.6.20 ||

Dieser Workshop lädt ein, sich mit den Phänomenen des Atems zu beschäftigen und ihn als einen existenziellen Prozess des Lebens zu begreifen. Lisa Densem und Jana Unmüßig werden mit den Teilnehmer*innen ganzheitlich erfahrungsbezogene, konzeptuelle und historische Aspekte des Atems im Kontext von zeitgenössischem Tanz und Choreografie erforschen. Der Workshop steht aber auch Personen mit einer künstlerischen Praxis jeder Art offen. Lisa Densem wird ihre Arbeit über die Wechselbeziehung zwischen Atem und Bewegung teilen und leitet ihren Unterricht aus der Atem-arbeitspraxis 'BreathExperience' ab. In Anlehnung an Ilse Middendorf betont diese Form der Atemarbeit den 'erlaubenden' Atem: den Atem kommen und gehen lassen. Jana Unmüßig bietet an, die Möglichkeiten choreografischer Verfahren zu erforschen, die sich mit einem erhöhten Atem-bewusstsein ergeben können. Sie wird auch einen konzeptuellen/historischen Rahmen nutzen, durch den die Phänomene des Atems gedacht werden können und bezieht die Arbeit verschiedener Künstler*innen sowie wissenschaftliche Forschung über den Atem aus der zweiten Hälfte des 20.Jhd. mit ein.

Mi 22.7. 15:00
Lecture/Talk mit Jana Unmüßig »Re-thinking Breathing in the Context of Expanded Choreography«

Lisa Densem ist Tänzerin/Performerin aus Neuseeland, die seit 1999 in Berlin arbeitet. Sie war viele Jahre lang Teil der Kompanie Sasha Waltz & Guests und arbeitete an zahlreichen Projekten, darunter die Trilogie-Reihen “Körper“ , “S“ und “Nobody“, mit sowie u.a. mit Choreografen wie Hanna Hegen-scheidt, Laurent Chetouane, Jana Unmüssig, Roni Katz und Sergiu Matis. Sie arbeitet auch als Dozentin, Mentorin und Choreografin und hat gerade eine Atemtherapie-Ausbildung, Breath-Experience, basierend auf der Arbeit von Ilse Middendorf, abgeschlossen.

Jana Unmüßig ist in zeitgenössischem Tanz, Choreografie und künstlerischer Forschung ausgebildet. Ihre choreografische Arbeit wurde u.a. im Hebbel am Ufer Berlin, Kampnagel Hamburg, Impulstanz Wien präsentiert. Im Jahr 2018 erhielt Jana Unmüßig einen D.A. von Uniarts Helsinki. Derzeit hat sie eine Post-Doc-Stelle am Zentrum für künstlerische Forschung der Uniarts Helsinki inne. Sie lebt mit ihrer Familie in Helsinki. Weitere Informationen: www. jana-unmussig.com

-
Möckernstr. 68, 10965 Berlin

Level: Bewegungserfahrung
In englischer Sprache
Nicht barrierefrei

Kosten 240 € ( 210 € * )
* Frühbucherrabatt: Gilt bei Eingang der Gesamtzahlung bis 02.07.2020
Photo: Bea Rodrigues