Tanzfabrik
Berlin
School
School
School
School
Wedding 3
Badstr. 41A, Uferstr. 23
13357 Berlin
School
School

Elastic Endings

Performance-Projekt with Victoria McConnell

Death is the only certainty in human existence. But the end is actually a beginning: we experience time only as a result of death, the knowledge of an ending. Just as light cannot be appreciated without shadow, living takes on meaning in time because of death. We measure time, we feel it. We see it passing in plants, seasons, and the human body. Decay becomes an indicator of time, the movement towards an end.  In this performance project, death is the starting point. We use it to frame our exploration of time and our sensation of it passing. Do we move through time or does it move around us? Time is both linear and cyclical. Tick, tock, tick tock: we measure it with watches and in our bodies. Using movement imagery from nature and cosmology, we will play with measuring time, the postures of decay, and manipulating experienced time. Can we find endless or infinite movements? Time flies and it stands still, depending on our emotions. Can we slow down or speed up time with our bodies?  Playing with improvisation as well as manipulating material from Victoria’s research, we will consider time from the viewpoint of plants and humans, and enjoy the whoosh of perspective shift between microcosm and macrocosm. With body, voice, humour, and sensitivity we will research, then knit together a performative frame for the final evening’s public showing.
Fee: 190 € / red: 170 € / professional dancers: 150 € | Application for the project: mueller@tanzfabrik-berlin.de

Additionally you can join the Contemporary class with Victoria McConnell
31.8.-21.10.2020 | Mon & Wed 18:10-19:40

Victoria's Contemporary Dance class begins with guided improvisations to bring awareness of the breath, awaken the skin’s sensation, and invite the brain and the body to arrive in the space. Warming up further, the class flows through structured exercises to activate the core and large muscle groups while flowing in and out of the floor. Continuing to weave improvisation with technique, Victoria offers a focus or theme, which returns throughout the class. As the class progresses we eat up space with spirals, floor work and turns, moving across the space using tasks and short phrases to integrate sensation and detail with larger movements. Bringing the various elements together, the class culminates in phrase-work and integrating improvisation or individual movement qualities into the structure or choreography Victoria offers. 
Fee: Single class 12€, 10x card 110€

Victoria McConnell

A native Californian, Victoria earned a BFA in Dance from Belhaven University in 2008, and worked in Washington and Oregon. Since 2015, she is based in Germany performing, teaching, and creating collaboratively in Europe. From Berlin, she has worked with composers Katya Sourikova and Adriano Fontana, with musicians Joshua Tennent and Livia Rita. As a dancer, Victoria has performed for Joachim Schlömer, Tanz Company Gervasi, Sara Angius, the Staatsoper Unter den Linden and others. She also performs for camera and in comedy. In Seattle from 2009-2015 she danced for many artists including Catapult Dance, Ilvs Strauss, Alana O Rogers Dance Company, and Coriolis Dance Collective. Curating through ada Studio in Berlin, since 2018 she creates events for the series “NAH DRAN extended". While in Seattle, she co-produced dance events through the nonprofit Abbey Arts in 2013 and 2014.
31.8.-21.10.2020
Mon + Wed 20:00 - 22:00
Showing: 21.10.2020 / 21:00
Registration for the project: mueller@tanzfabrik-berlin.de
Phone: 030.786 58 61

starts 31.8.

Tanzfabrik
Berlin
Schule
Schule
Schule
Schule
Wedding 3
Badstr. 41A, Uferstr. 23
13357 Berlin
Schule
Schule

Elastic Endings

Performance-Projekt mit Victoria McConnell

Der Tod ist die einzige Gewissheit in der menschlichen Existenz. Aber das Ende ist eigentlich ein Anfang: Wir erleben Zeit nur als Folge des Todes, als Wissen um ein Ende. So wie das Licht nicht ohne Schatten wahrgenommen werden kann, so bekommt das Leben durch den Tod einen Sinn in der Zeit. Wir messen die Zeit, wir fühlen sie. Wir sehen sie in Pflanzen, Jahreszeiten und im menschlichen Körper vergehen. Der Verfall wird zum Indikator der Zeit, der Bewegung auf ein Ende zu. In diesem Performance-Projekt ist der Tod der Ausgangspunkt. Wir benutzen ihn, um unsere Erforschung der Zeit und unser Gefühl des Vergehens zu rahmen. Bewegen wir uns durch die Zeit oder bewegt sie sich um uns herum? Die Zeit ist sowohl linear als auch zyklisch. Tick, tock, tick tock: Wir messen sie mit Uhren und in unserem Körper. Anhand von Bewegungsbildern aus der Natur und der Kosmologie spielen wir mit der Zeitmessung, den Haltungen des Verfalls und der Manipulation erfahrener Zeit. Können wir endlose oder unendliche Bewegungen finden? Die Zeit fliegt und steht still, je nach unseren Emotionen. Können wir die Zeit mit unserem Körper verlangsamen oder beschleunigen? Wir spielen mit Improvisation und manipulieren Material aus Victorias Forschung, betrachten die Zeit aus der Sicht von Pflanzen und Menschen und genießen den Schwung des Perspektivwechsels zwischen Mikro- und Makrokosmos. Mit Körper, Stimme, Humor und Sensibilität werden wir recherchieren und dann einen performativen Rahmen für die öffentliche Aufführung des letzten Abends zusammenstellen.
Kosten: 190 € / erm.: 170 € / professionelle Tänzer*innen: 150 € | Anmeldung: mueller@tanzfabrik-berlin.de

Zusätzlich eine Contemporary Klasse mit Victoria McConnell
31.8.-21.10.2020 | Mo & Mi 18:10-19:40

Victorias Klasse für Zeitgenössischen Tanz beginnt mit geführten Improvisationen, um das Bewusstsein für den Atem zu wecken, das Gefühl der Haut zu wecken und das Gehirn und den Körper einzuladen, in den Raum zu kommen. Beim weiteren Aufwärmen fließt die Klasse durch strukturierte Übungen, um den Kern und die großen Muskelgruppen zu aktivieren, während sie in den Boden hinein und aus dem Boden heraus fließen. Victoria setzt die Improvisation mit der Technik fort und bietet einen Schwerpunkt oder ein Thema an, das in der gesamten Klasse wiederkehrt. Im weiteren Verlauf der Klasse fressen wir den Raum mit Spiralen, Bodenarbeit und Drehungen auf und bewegen uns mit Aufgaben und kurzen Phrasen durch den Raum, um Empfindungen und Details in größere Bewegungen zu integrieren. Die Klasse bringt die verschiedenen Elemente zusammen und führt in der Phrasenarbeit und der Integration von Improvisation oder individuellen Bewegungsqualitäten in die Struktur oder Choreografie, die Victoria anbietet.
Kosten: Einzelstunde 12€, 10er Karte 110€

Victoria McConnell

Die gebürtige Kalifornierin erwarb 2008 einen BFA in Tanz an der Universität Belhaven und arbeitete in Washington und Oregon. Seit 2015 wohnte sie in Deutschland, wo sie in Europa auftritt, lehrt und gemeinsam kreativ ist. Von Berlin aus hat sie mit den Komponisten Katya Sourikova und Adriano Fontana sowie mit den Musikern Joshua Tennent und Livia Rita gearbeitet. Als Tänzerin trat Victoria u. a. für Joachim Schlömer, Tanzkompanie Gervasi, Sara Angius und die Staatsoper Unter den Linden auf. Sie tritt auch vor der Kamera und in der Komödie auf. Von 2009-2015 tanzte sie in Seattle für viele Künstler, darunter Catapult Dance, Ilvs Strauss, Alana O Rogers Dance Company und Coriolis Dance Collective. Seit 2018 kuratiert sie Veranstaltungen über das ada Studio in Berlin. Während ihres Zeit in Seattle war sie 2013 und 2014 Koproduzentin von Tanzveranstaltungen der Abbey Arts.
31.8.-21.10.2020
Mo + Mi 20:00 - 22:00
Showing: 21.10.2020 / 21:00
Anmeldung für das Projekt: mueller@tanzfabrik-berlin.de
Phone: 030.786 58 61

ab 31.8.