Tanzfabrik
Berlin
School
School
School
School
Kreuzberg 1
Möckernstr. 68
10965 Berlin
School
School

The Instrument – Dance Composition & Aliveness

Workshop with Maya M. Carroll
In the frame of Sommer Tanz 2022

Involving improvisation, choreography and the act of performance; this week-intensive welcomes us to work with our presence, responsiveness and the interplay between motion, stillness and image. These elements are activated in the process of making compositions; as we discover ways of seeing and thinking-physically, within embodied situations / narratives. Recognizing the connection between our physical – self and our relations with each other deepens; through touch, time, gesture and space. Qualities of interactions and choices we take within the dynamics of instant composition are encouraged through flow, bodily wisdom and imaginative thinking. A pathway to dance making and performance; allowing precision, playfulness and poetry come to life in our emerging pieces while witnessing the universes they create.

Following your registration, please send a short text describing your current interest and creative process (e.g what work you are involved with at the moment which connects you with this course). I will appreciate knowing a little bit about your dance journey before we meet! Kindly send your text to : contact.the.instrument@gmail.com

Maya M. Carroll

Maya Matilda Carroll is a choreographer, dancer and mentor, based in Europe since 2004. For over 18 years she has been creating independent work; from solo to extended group pieces, which she presents all over Europe and worldwide. In 2011 Maya formed The Instrument with her partner, composer / musician Roy Carroll. In her work Maya expresses human conditions intimately and universally; seeking a deeper connection to the (mystery / reality of) self, other/s and to nature. Working independently as well as being commissioned to create pieces for state theaters, independent companies and dance academies, Maya leads master classes and workshops in Europe and abroad, extensively developing her teaching alongside her artistic work; drawn from and towards the limitless expression of the dancing body.  www.theinstrument.org
Advanced – for people interested in performance
In English
Price: 230/200*
*Early bird until 21.07.2022
Registration

Tanzfabrik
Berlin
Schule
Schule
Schule
Schule
Kreuzberg 1
Möckernstr. 68
10965 Berlin
Schule
Schule

The Instrument – Dance Composition & Aliveness

Workshop mit Maya M. Carroll
Im Rahmen von Sommer Tanz 2022

In diesem einwöchigen Intensivkurs, der Improvisation, Choreografie und den Akt der Performance umfasst, arbeiten wir mit unserer Präsenz, unserer Reaktionsfähigkeit und dem Zusammenspiel von Bewegung, Stille und Bild. Diese Elemente werden im Prozess des Komponierens aktiviert, wenn wir Möglichkeiten des Sehens und Denkens entdecken – körperlich und in verkörperten Situationen / Erzählungen. Das Erkennen der Verbindung zwischen unserem physischen Selbst und unseren Beziehungen zu anderen Menschen vertieft sich durch Berührung, Zeit, Gesten und Raum. Qualitäten von Interaktionen und Entscheidungen, die wir innerhalb der Dynamik einer unmittelbaren Komposition treffen, werden durch Fluss, körperliche Weisheit und fantasievolles Denken gefördert.  Ein Weg zum Tanzen und zur Aufführung, der Präzision, Verspieltheit und Poesie in unseren entstehenden Stücken zum Leben erweckt, während wir die Universen beobachten, die sie erschaffen. 

Bitte sendet nach eurer Anmeldung einen kurzen Text, in dem ihr euer aktuelles Interesse und euren kreativen Prozess beschreibt (z. B. mit welcher Arbeit ihr im Moment beschäftigt seid, die ihr mit diesem Kurs verbindet). Ich würde mich freuen, ein wenig über eure bisherigen Tanzreisen zu erfahren, bevor wir uns treffen! Bitte sendet eure Texte an: contact.the.instrument@gmail.com

Maya M. Carroll

Maya Matilda Carroll ist eine Choreografin, Tänzerin und Mentorin, die seit 2004 in Europa lebt. Seit über 18 Jahren kreiert sie unabhängige Arbeiten, von Solo- bis hin zu erweiterten Gruppenstücken, die sie in ganz Europa und weltweit präsentiert. Im Jahr 2011 gründete Maya mit ihrem Partner, dem Komponisten und Musiker Roy Carroll, das Ensemble The Instrument. In ihrer Arbeit bringt Maya menschliche Zustände auf intime und universelle Weise zum Ausdruck; sie sucht nach einer tieferen Verbindung zum (Mysterium/zur Realität des) Selbst, des/der Anderen und zur Natur. Maya arbeitet sowohl unabhängig als auch im Auftrag von staatlichen Theatern, unabhängigen Kompanien und Tanzakademien. Sie leitet Meisterklassen und Workshops in Europa und im Ausland und entwickelt ihre Vermittlungs- parallel zu ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit weiter, die sich auf den grenzenlosen Ausdruck des tanzenden Körpers stützt.  www.theinstrument.org
Fortgeschritten – für Leute mit Interesse am Performen
In Englischer Sprache
Preis: 230/200*
*Early bird bis 21.07.2022
Anmeldung