Workshop

S-06 / Moving Bodies | Empty Spaces

Martin Piliponsky, Kirstie Simson

In the frame of Sommer Tanz 2018

Exploring Freedom through Dance Improvisation

Kirstie and Martin’s creative dialogue encompasses the importance of expanded listening with perceptions of the body and the environment, through practicing focused states of presence, communication and bonding. Imagine a relationship to our bodies without the imposition of culturally conditioned expectations. Imagine what our relationship would be to dancing if we had no prior notion about what the moving body should look or feel like. Is it possible to reach beyond these and other ideas of limitation, to enter a field of free expression in the body? In this workshop Martin and Kirstie will take participants into this field through the celebration of movement practices that they have developed over the past thirty-five years of teaching dance improvisation. We will develop the sensitivity to care for, engage, respect and respond to our own and our partners bodies as we move through practices that are powerful and potentially transformative. The work will include facilitated exercises, open time for play and exploration, movement and vocal scores, listening, observations, meditation and discussion. Much of the work will be experienced through partnering and connection with others, balanced with solo moving and sounding. There will be time to process our individual experiences and to understand connections to a creative and liberating way of being together. Both Martin and Kirstie see their art forms as a life practice, and they will share insights gleaned from their collective experience of living dance improvisation.

Wheelchair accessible studio.

Martin Piliponsky (Argentina) is an architect and urban planner, a dancer and teacher of improvisa- tion. Throughout his growth, Hebrew folk dances and athletic sport training have shaped his character and spirit. For the past several years his passion for architecture is reflected in his guidance as a teacher and curator of spaces both traditional and non-traditional for the practice and performance of dance and improvisation. Blending his background in architecture and dance, Martin teaches about the possibilities of how the spaces in which we live can transform dance and life itself. Sustained by a practice in deep listening to oneself and the environment that contains us, he shares his practice through teaching and performance to students and audiences all over the world.

Kirstie Simson (UK) draws from her knowledge of contact improvisation, dance techniques, the Alexander technique, aikido, meditation and dedicated spiritual inquiry, and her extensive experience of improvisation in performance. She has worked tirelessly over the course of three decades to share with people the joy of exploring the bodys’ primal urge to move. She feels passionately that liberating our often unquestioned and fearful relationship with our physical intelligence will be an important aspect in the creation of new culture. She currently teaches dance improvisation at the University of Illinois, and facilitates workshops all over the world.

-
Uferstr. 23, 13357 Berlin

Level: Movement experience
In English

Prices 160 € ( 135 € * )
* Early Bird Price: Applies on arrival of the full workshop fee on our account by 28.06.2018
Photo: Sol Schiller

Workshop

S-06 / Moving Bodies | Empty Spaces

Martin Piliponsky, Kirstie Simson

Im Rahmen von Open Spaces/Sommer Tanz 2018

Freiheit erforschen durch Tanzimprovisation

Kirstie und Martin führen einen kreativen Dialog. Es geht um erweitertes Zuhörens durch Wahrneh- mungen des Körpers und der Umwelt und um das Praktizieren von Präsenz, Kommunikation und Bindung. Können wir uns eine Beziehung zu unserem Körper vorstellen, die keine kulturbedingten Erwartungen bedienen muss? Können wir uns vorstellen, wie unsere Beziehung zum Tanzen wäre, wenn wir keine Vorstellung davon hätten, wie ein tanzender Körper aussehen oder sich anfühlen sollte? Können wir über diese und andere Grenzen hinausgehen und in ein Feld des freien Ausdrucks im Körper eintreten? In diesem Workshop werden Martin und Kirstie die Teilnehmer durch verschie- denste Bewegungspraktiken führen, die sie in den letzten fünfunddreißig Jahren im Bereich der Tanzimprovisation entwickelt haben. Sensibilität für uns und unseren Partner entwickeln, uns engagieren, einander respektieren und uns proaktiv durch potenziell transformativ Praktiken. Der Workshop wird angeleitete Übungen, Freiräume für spielerische Erkundung, die Arbeit mit der Stimme, mit dem Zuhören, Beobachten, mit Meditation und Diskussion beinhalten. Ein Großteil wird durch Partnerschaften und Verbindungen mit anderen erlebt, ausgewogen mit Solo-Bewegungen und -Sounds. Es gibt Zeit, unsere individuellen Erfahrungen zu verarbeiten und Zusammenhänge mit dem kreativen und befreienden Miteinander zu verstehen. Sowohl Martin als auch Kirstie sehen ihre Kunstformen als eine Lebenspraxis. Sie werden in diesem Kontext ihre Erfahrungen im Bereich der Tanzimprovisation teilen.

Rollstuhlgerechtes Studio.

Martin Piliponsky (Argentinien) ist Architekt und Stadtplaner, Tänzer und Lehrer für Improvisation. Ein prägender EInfluß in seiner Entwicklung waren zuerst hebräische Volkstänze und athletisches Sporttraining. Seine Leidenschaft für Architektur spiegelt sich in den letzten Jahren in seiner Arbeit als Lehrer und Kurator traditioneller und nicht-traditioneller Räume für die Praxis und Performance von Tanz und Improvisation wider. Martins Unterrichtet verbindet Architektur und Tanz in der Frage, wie die Räume, in denen wir leben, den Tanz und das Leben selbst verändern können. Er teilt seine Praxis in Unterricht und Performances mit Studenten und Publikum auf der ganzen Welt.

Kirstie Simson (UK) schöpft aus ihrem Wissen über Contact Improvisation, Tanztechniken, der Alexander-Technik, Aikido, Meditation und engagierte spirituelle Forschung sowie ihre umfangreiche Erfahrung mit Improvisation in Performance. Sie hat über drei Jahrzehnte hinweg unermüdlich gearbeitet, um innerhalb Ihres Unterrichts die Freude am Bewegungsdrang des Körpers zu erforschen und zu vermitteln. Sie fühlt mit Leidenschaft, dass die Befreiung unserer oft unhinterfragten und ängstlichen Beziehung mit unserer physischen Intelligenz ein wichtiger Aspekt bei der Schaffung einer neuen Kultur sein wird. Sie unterrichtet derzeit Tanzimprovisation an der Universität von Illinois und Workshops auf der ganzen Welt.

-
Uferstr. 23, 13357 Berlin

Level: Bewegungserfahrung
In Englischer Sprache

Kosten 160 € ( 135 € * )
* Frühbucherrabatt: Gilt bei Eingang der Gesamtzahlung bis 28.06.2018
Photo: Sol Schiller