Workshop

S-08 / Alexander Technique in Dance Practice

Georgia Paizi, Thodoris Ziarkas

In the frame of Open Spaces/Sommer Tanz 2019

Inspired by the poetic literalism of the human body, plant physiology, and planet orbits, the SEEd collaboration project (Georgia Paizi and Thodoris Ziarkas) draws from the Alexander Technique, somatic education and an experiential anatomy toolkit. Working with live music, group improvisations talked-through in real time, hands-on work in duets, and instant composition, this SEEd workshop themes include falling up, a dance past, a bony landscape, gesturing from the fascia (connection, proprioception), breath, habit, and motivation, as well as tropism (plants quality of growing in a turning quality), SEEd's basic idea and inspiration.

Georgia Paizi (UK/GR) is a dancer and movement & experiential anatomy teacher. She studied dance at Trinity Laban with the Independent Dance (MA Creative Practice - Dance Professional, Gill Clarke Bursary, TLD Award) in London, where she also studied anatomy & physiology (CCST) and was trained as an Alexander Technique teacher (LCATT). She holds a BA in theatre, and an MA in spatial theory from Greece. Georgia teaches regularly in Athens, London and Berlin.

Thodoris Ziarkas (UK/GR) is an improviser, double bassist and composer. After growing up with the sounds of the Cretan lyra he evolved through experimentation to discover the double bass. Currently based in London he is the co-founder of the group Valia Calda, as well as appearing regularly solo, with the London Improvisers Orchestra, Bonnendis, ΑΜΑΝ, and the trio with Tasos Stamou & Stephanos Chytiris. In addition he is a qualified teacher of the Alexander Technique (L.C.A.T.T, London). 

Mon-Thu - Fri -
Möckernstr. 68, 10965 Berlin

Level: Movement experience
In English
Not barrier-free

Prices 280 € ( 235 € * )
* Early Bird Price: Applies on arrival of the full workshop fee on our account by 04.07.2019
Photo: Haris Savoglou

Workshop

S-08 / Alexander Technique in Dance Practice

Georgia Paizi, Thodoris Ziarkas

Im Rahmen von Open Spaces/Sommer Tanz 2019

Inspiriert durch den poetischen Literalismus des menschlichen Körpers, die Physiologie der Pflanzen und die Umlaufbahnen der Planeten, stützt sich das kollaborative Projekt SEEd (Georgia Paizi und Thodoris Ziarkas) auf die Basis von Alexander-Technik, somatischem Wissen und einem erlebnisorientierten Anatomie-Toolkit. Sie arbeiten mit Live-Musik, Gruppenimprovisationen, Hands-on in Duetten und Instant Composition. Themen, die SEEd in diesem Workshop aufgreift sind: Hinauf Fallen, tänzerische Vergangenheit, knochige Landschaft, Gestikulieren aus den Faszien heraus (Verbindung, Propriozeption), Atem, Gewohnheit, Motivation und auch Tropismus (das Wegbewegen von festgewachsenen Strukturen bei Pflanzen durch äußere Reize), SEEd's grundlegende Idee und Inspiration.

Mi 25.7. 15:00 Lecture mit Georgia Paizi & Thodoris Ziarkas »Alexander Technique into Dance & Improvisation – Introducing the SEEd Teaching Practice«

Georgia Paizi (UK / GR) ist Tänzerin und Dozentin für Bewegung und erfahrene Anatomie. Studierte Tanz am Trinity Laban mit Independent Dance (MA Creative Practice - Tanzprofi, Gill Clarke Bursary, TLD Award) in London und auch Anatomie und Physiologie (CCST). Sie hat eine Ausbildung in Alexander-Technik (LCATT); einen BA in Theater (UoP) und MA in Raumtheorie (NTUA). Sie unterrichtet regelmäßig in Athen, London und Berlin.

Thodoris Ziarkas (UK / GR) ist Improviser, Kontrabassist und Komponist. Nachdem er mit den Klängen der kretischen Lyra aufgewachsen ist, kam er durchs Experimentieren zum Kontrabass. Derzeit lebt er in London und ist Mitbegründer der Gruppe Valia Calda. Er tritt regelmäßig als Solist, mit dem London Improvisers Orchestra, Bonnendis, ΑMΑΝ, und im Trio mit Tasos Stamou und Stephanos Chytiris auf. Außerdem ist er qualifizierter Lehrer der Alexander-Technik (L.C.A.T.T, London). 

Mo-Do - Fr -
Möckernstr. 68, 10965 Berlin

Level: Bewegungserfahrung
In englischer Sprache
Nicht Barrierefrei

Kosten 280 € ( 235 € * )
* Frühbucherrabatt: Gilt bei Eingang der Gesamtzahlung bis 04.07.2019
Photo: Haris Savoglou