Tanzfabrik
Berlin
Stage
Stage
Stage
Stage
Wedding 5
Badstr. 41A, Uferstr. 23
13357 Berlin
Stage
Stage
Foto: Bo Lahola

Der Carpenter-Effekt

Performance with Jochen Roller, Monica Antezana

What do you do when your scenic ambitions are monumental but your production budget isn’t? With the help of visualisation techniques, hypnotic methods and simulation strategies, Jochen Roller fulfils his dream and together with the choreographer Mónica Antezana, conjures a musical onto the stage, the like of which the dance world has never seen. With a forty strong ensemble of cardboard dancers they create audacious choreographic formations, transforming the stage with glittering tableaux from props and astound us with low-tech magic – and at least twenty costume changes guaranteed! In these times of rampant currency crashes and cut price cultural bureaucratic spectacles this production carries the rating of last resort of dance artists to dizzying heights. Charm, fantasy and endurance tempt you to indulge in an opulence that seems not at all of this time.

Concept, Choreography, Costume: Jochen Roller & Monica Antezana Performers: Monica Antezana, Jochen Roller, Andreas Russe Licht: Henning Streck. A Jochen Roller und Monica Antezana/Kampnagel co-productionSupported by the Kulturbehörde Hamburg and the Fonds Darstellende Künste. Berlin dates supported by NPN- Nationales Perfomance Netzwerk. This performance is made possible with the support of the NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ as part of the Gastspielförderung Tanz from funds of the commission of the Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien and the culture and arts ministries of the federal states.

Jochen Roller

Jochen Roller was born in 1971 in West Berlin and studied at the Institute for Applied Theatre Studies in Giessen and choreography at the Laban Centre in London. To date he has choreographed more than 50 pieces for the stage, galleries, fashion and film. His stage productions have toured Europe, the Near East, Asia and the Pacific region. His three hour solo trilogy perform performing (2002-2004) has been shown 147 times and was finally auctioned in 2009 at Christie’s in Hamburg. His latest piece Trachtenbummler premiered in 2013 in Tanz im August. Jochen Roller also works as a dancer in the Ensemble Gintersdorfer/Klassen and for Martin Nachbar. He has been a dramaturge for Joavien Ng (Singapore), Kadir Memis (Berlin) and Jecko Siompo (Jakarta). From 2007 until 2010, Jochen and Anne Kersting curated Kampnagel’s seasonal dance programme in Hamburg. During this time he founded the Live Art Festival in connection with seven European centres of theatre and was its director between 2009 and 2010. Jochen was a jury member for the Tanzplattform in 2010 and the German National Academic Foundation in 2011 and 2012. Jochen Roller has been on the Goethe Institute list of significant German choreographers since 2004.

Monica Antezana

Monica Antezana born 1977 in Bolivia, obtained a MA in Science of Education (Universidad Mayor de San Simón, Bolivia), a BA in Dance and Choreography (Rotterdam Dance Academy, The Netherlands) and a MA in Performances Studies (Hamburg University, Germany). She works as a freelance choreographer, performer and movement educator. Since 2006 Monica produced, choreographed and performed in Hamburg and toured in Germany five solos, one group piece and one duet. During 2007 she was Resident Choreographer at K3 Centre for Choreography Hamburg. She was invited with her solo babel fish moves for the German Dance Platform 2010. In 2013 Monica created MOVELAB Dance Centre with base in Dubai. MOVELAB is a unique dance concept in the United Arab Emirates, which focuses on the exploration of movement –instead of the reproduction of steps. With MOVELAB Monica works teaching Creative Movement to children and adults of all skill levels; designing Educational Dance Programs for the curriculum of schools; coaching Performance & Choreography workshops and projects for professional dancers or professionals in any other fields; as well as making and performing Dance Works.www.movelabdance.com

Tanzfabrik
Berlin
Bühne
Bühne
Bühne
Bühne
Wedding 5
Badstr. 41A, Uferstr. 23
13357 Berlin
Bühne
Bühne
Foto: Bo Lahola

Der Carpenter-Effekt

Performance mit Jochen Roller, Monica Antezana

Was tun, wenn szenische Fantasien großartig sind, Produktionsmittel aber nicht? Mit Hilfe von Imaginations-Techniken, Hypnose-Methoden und Simulations-Strategien erfüllt sich Jochen Roller einen Traum und zaubert mit der Choreografin Mónica Antezana ein Musical auf die Bühne, wie es die Tanzwelt noch nicht gesehen hat. Mit einem Ensemble von vierzig Tänzern aus Pappkarton erschaffen sie großartige choreografische Formationen, verwandeln die Bühne in rauschende Bilderwelten aus Requisiten und verblüffen mit ausgefallenem Low-Tech Bühnenzauber – und zwanzig garantierten Kostümwechseln! Zu Zeiten der Hochkonjunktur von fallenden Währungen und Kürzungsspektakeln der Kulturbürokratie treibt diese Produktion das Rating der letzten Ressourcen der Tanzkünstler in schwindelerregende Höhen. Charme, Fantasie und Ausdauer verführen dazu, einer Opulenz zu frönen, die ganz und gar nicht zeitgemäß wirkt.

Konzept, Choreografie, Kostüm: Jochen Roller & Monica Antezana Performance: Mónica Antezana, Jochen Roller, Andreas Russe Licht: Henning Streck

Eine Produktion von Jochen Roller und Mónica Antezana, in Koproduktion mit Kampnagel.Gefördert von der Kulturbehörde Hamburg und dem Fonds Darstellende Künste. Berliner Gastspiel gefördert vom NPN- Nationales Perfomance Netzwerk. Die Veranstaltung wird ermöglicht durchdas NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ im Rahmen der Gastspielförderung Tanz aus Mitteln des Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien sowie der Kultur- und Kunstministerien der Länder

Jochen Roller

Jochen Roller, geboren 1971 in West-Berlin, studierte Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Giessen und Choreografie am Laban Centre in London. Er choreografierte bisher über 50 Arbeiten für Bühnen, Galerien, Mode und Film. Seine Bühnenproduktionen touren in Europa, Nahost, Asien und in der Pazifikregion. Die dreistündige Solo-Trilogie perform performing (2002-2004) wurde 147 Mal aufgeführt und 2009 vom Auktionshaus Christie’s in Hamburg versteigert. Sein letztes Stück Trachtenbummler hatte 2013 Premiere im Rahmen des Festivals Tanz im August. Als Tänzer arbeitet Jochen Roller in dem Ensemble Gintersdorfer/Klassen und für Martin Nachbar. Als Dramaturg war er unter anderem für Joavien Ng (Singapur), Kadir Memis (Berlin) und Jecko Siompo (Jakarta) tätig. Von 2007 bis 2010 kuratierte Jochen zusammen mit Anne Kersting das saisonale Tanzprogramm von Kampnagel Hamburg. In dieser Zeit gründete er im Verbund mit sieben europäischen Theaterzentren das Live Art Festival, dessen künstlerischer Leiter er 2009 und 2010 war. Jochen war Jury-Mitgleid der Tanzplattform 2010 und der Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes 2011 und 2012. Seit 2004 steht Jochen Roller auf der Liste der wichtigsten deutschen Choreografen des Goethe-Instituts.

Monica Antezana

Monica Antezana, wurde 1977 in Bolivien geboren. Sie hat einen MA in Erziehungswissenschaften (Universidad Mayor de San Simón, Bolivien), einen BA in Tanz und Choreografie (Rotterdam Dance Academy, Niederlande) und einen MA in Performances Studies (Universität Hamburg). Sie arbeitet als freie Choreografin, Performerin und Bewegungslehrerin. Seit 2006 produziert, choreografiert und performt Monica in Hamburg und tourte mit fünf Solos, einem Gruppenstück und einem Duett in Deutschland. Im Jahr 2007 war sie Resident Choreographer am K3 Zentrum für Choreografie in Hamburg. Mit ihrem Solo babel fish moves war sie zur Tanzplattform 2010 eingeladen. 2013 gründete Monica das MOVELAB Dance Centre in Dubai. MOVELAB ist ein in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten einzigartiges Tanzkonzept, das sich anstelle einer bloßen Reproduktion von Schritten auf Bewegungsforschung spezialisiert hat. Mit MOVELAB lehrt Monica Kindern und Erwachsenen aller Kenntnisstufen kreative Bewegung; entwirft Educational Dance Programs für Lehrpläne an Schulen; entwickelt Performance- und Choreografie-Workshops und Projekte für professionelle Tänzer ebenso wie eigene Performances und Arbeiten.www.movelabdance.com