Tanzfabrik
Berlin
School
School
Photo: Bodycartography Project

Fluid Spaces Research (fully booked)

Online + Live Workshop with Olive Bieringa, Otto Ramstad

In the frame of Criss-Crossing Encounters 2021

We are looking for dancers who are interested in a process which will begin as a workshop and will evolve into a series of site based investigations. We invite participants to apply in small pods if possible, to expand the process of the research also beyond the workshop. Together we will create a series of local / live feed / digital events that will expand our choreographic research with an international community.
 
We will research how embodied embryological knowledge can grow a dance that transforms the way we, performers and audience alike, experience our own bodies/selves/environment. We will use touch and movement as a doorway into our embryological history. Embryogenesis is an adventure we all undertook to become who we are. The first eight weeks after conception is when our body forms its basic structure. In this period, we transform from a fertilized egg into two cells that multiply into a cluster of cells, which develop into a series of fluid spaces that become a highly differentiated human being. These fluid spaces and processes underlie our current structure and inform our current state of being. This is action-oriented artistic research of recovering the potential space of the embryo that has yet to be lived, in each of us. 
This artistic research will feed into the project of Olive Bieringa & Otto Ramstad “A Collection of Fluid Spaces”, a radical embryology laboratory which they are building for the medical galleries at the Norsk Teknisk Museum in Oslo in April 2021. Read more at: https://bodycartography.org/portfolio/the-museum-of-fluid-spaces/

Interested individual participants or pods please send one page including a short bio and your interest/motivation to leopold@tanzfabrik-berlin.de till the 8th of January. The spaces are limited to 25.

February - April 2021
Intensive workshop:
feb 5-7 & march 19-21
Public hybrid sharing April 15-25,
Norsk Teknisk Museum in Oslo

In the frame of “Criss-Crossing Encounters” supported by the NATIONAL PERFORMANCE NETWORK - STEPPING OUT, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media within the framework of the initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Assistance Program for Dance.

Olive Bieringa

Olive Bieringa is a dance, performance and visual artist working at the intersection of social and creative practice, pedagogy, and healing. She is a teacher, and practitioner of Body-Mind Centering® and a program director of Somatic Education Australasia. She has curated art and science projects for Public Art St. Paul, and Earthdance in Massachusetts. She is part of team that runs PRAXIS Oslo, a laboratory for the study of dance and movement-based forms in Oslo, Norway. She collaborates with Otto Ramstad as the BodyCartography Project. 

Together they create dances, performances, films, installations, festivals and other projects which engage with the vital materiality of our bodies and minds to create art that facilitates a re-enchantment of embodiment, relationship, and presence. Their work has been presented by Oslo Kommune, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Weisman Art Museum, Minneapolis, Performance Space 122, NYC, Lyon Opera Ballet amongst other contexts and lives in the collection of the Te Papa Tongarewa National Museum of New Zealand. bodycartography.org

Otto Ramstad

Otto Ramstad is a dance artist who works with movement research to create performances, video work and installations for theaters, galleries, museums and different site and context specific encounters. He began studying Body-Mind Centering® in 1981 at six years old with his first dance teacher Suzanne River and is now a Certified Teacher of Body-Mind Centering® , teaching internationally and working as the Educational Director of Somatic Education Australasia.  He has a MA in Choreography from KHiO, Oslo. He has worked intensively over the last twenty years with primary teachers: with Lisa Nelson, assistant teaching for Bonnie Bainbridge Cohen, founder of Body-Mind Centering®, and since 2010 with Steve Paxton’s Material for the Spine which he teaches for Paxton internationally including at Steve Paxton: Swimming in Gravity, Brussels. He has been dancing in the work of DD Dorvillier, Miguel Gutierrez, Sara Shelton Mann, Karen Nelson, Mia Habib and Kitt Johnson. His most recent work Lineage was at Riksscenen as part of the Oslo Internasjonale Teaterfestival 2020. 
Level: Advanced
In English
Participation free of charge
Application to: leopold@tanzfabrik-berlin.de

Tanzfabrik
Berlin
Schule
Schule
Photo: Bodycartography Project

Fluid Spaces Research (ausgebucht)

Online + Live Workshop mit Olive Bieringa, Otto Ramstad

Im Rahmen von Criss-Crossing Encounters 2021

Wir suchen Tänzerinnen und Tänzer, die an einem Prozess interessiert sind, der als Workshop beginnt und sich zu einer Reihe von ortsbezogenen Untersuchungen entwickelt. Wir laden die TeilnehmerInnen ein, sich wenn möglich in kleinen Pods zu bewerben, um den Prozess der Recherche auch über den Workshop hinaus auszuweiten. Gemeinsam werden wir eine Reihe von lokalen / live feed / digitalen Events kreieren, die unsere choreographische Forschung mit einer internationalen Gemeinschaft erweitern werden.

Wir werden erforschen, wie aus verkörpertem, embryologischem Wissen ein Tanz entstehen kann, der die Art und Weise verändert, wie wir – Performer und Publikum gleichermaßen – unsere eigenen Körper/Selbst/Umgebung erfahren. Wir werden Berührung und Bewegung als ein Tor in unsere embryologische Geschichte nutzen. Die Embryogenese ist ein Abenteuer, das wir alle unternommen haben, um zu werden, wer wir sind. In den ersten acht Wochen nach der Empfängnis formt unser Körper seine Grundstruktur. In dieser Zeit verwandeln wir uns von einer befruchteten Eizelle in zwei Zellen, die sich zu einem Zellhaufen vermehren, der sich zu einer Reihe von Flüssigkeitsräumen entwickelt, die zu einem hochdifferenzierten menschlichen Wesen werden. Diese fließenden Räume und Prozesse liegen unserer aktuellen Struktur zugrunde und informieren unseren  Seinszustand. Dies ist eine handlungsorientierte künstlerische Forschung zur Wiedergewinnung des potentiellen Raums des Embryos, der noch gelebt werden muss, in jedem von uns.

Diese künstlerische Forschung wird in das Projekt von Olive Bieringa & Otto Ramstad "A Collection of Fluid Spaces" einfließen, ein radikales Embryologielabor, das sie für die medizinischen Galerien im Norsk Teknisk Museum in Oslo im April 2021 bauen. Lest mehr unter: https://bodycartography.org/portfolio/the-museum-of-fluid-spaces/

Interessierte Personen oder Gruppen senden bitte bis zum 8. Januar eine Seite mit kurzen Bio und ihrem Interesse/Motivation an leopold@tanzfabrik-berlin.de. Die Plätze sind auf 25 begrenzt.

February - April 2021
Intensive workshop:
feb 5-7 & march 19-21
Public hybrid sharing April 15-25,
Norsk Teknisk Museum in Oslo

Der Workshop findet im  Rahmen des Projektes  “Criss-Crossing Encounters" statt, unterstützt durch das NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ – STEPPING OUT, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen der Initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Hilfsprogramm Tanz.“ 

Olive Bieringa

Olive Bieringa  ist eine Tanz-, Performance- und bildende Künstlerin, die an der Schnittstelle von sozialer und kreativer Praxis, Pädagogik und Heilung arbeitet. Sie ist Dozentin und Praktikerin von Body-Mind Centering® und Programmdirektorin von Somatic Education Australasia. Sie hat Kunst- und Wissenschaftsprojekte für Public Art St. Paul und Earthdance in Massachusetts kuratiert und  ist Teil des Teams, das PRAXIS Oslo leitet, ein Labor für das Studium von Tanz und bewegungsbasierten Formen in Oslo, Norwegen. 

Zusammen mit Otto Ramstad arbeitet sie als BodyCartography Project. Gemeinsam kreieren sie Tänze, Performances, Filme, Installationen, Festivals und andere Projekte, die sich mit der vitalen Materialität unserer Körper und unseres Geistes auseinandersetzen, um Kunst zu schaffen, die eine Wiederverzauberung von Verkörperung, Beziehung und Präsenz ermöglicht. Ihre Arbeiten wurden unter anderem von der Oslo Kommune, dem San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, dem Weisman Art Museum, Minneapolis, dem Performance Space 122, NYC und dem Lyon Opera Ballet präsentiert und befinden sich in der Sammlung des Te Papa Tongarewa National Museum of New Zealand. bodycartography.org

Otto Ramstad

Otto Ramstad ist ein Künstler, der mit Bewegungsforschung arbeitet, um Performances, Videoarbeiten und Installationen für Theater, Galerien, Museen und verschiedene orts- und kontextspezifische Begegnungen zu schaffen. Er begann 1981 im Alter von sechs Jahren mit dem Studium von Body-Mind Centering® bei seiner ersten Tanzlehrerin Suzanne River. Heute ist er zertifizierter Lehrer für Body-Mind Centering®, unterrichtet international und arbeitet als Educational Director von Somatic Education Australasia.  Er hat einen MA in Choreographie von KHiO, Oslo. In den letzten zwanzig Jahren hat er intensiv mit primären Lehrern gearbeitet: mit Lisa Nelson, als Assistent von Bonnie Bainbridge Cohen, der Begründerin von Body-Mind Centering®, und seit 2010 mit Steve Paxtons Material for the Spine, das er international  für Paxton unterrichtet, u.a. bei Steve Paxton: Swimming in Gravity, Brüssel. Er hat in den Arbeiten von DD Dorvillier, Miguel Gutierrez, Sara Shelton Mann, Karen Nelson, Mia Habib und Kitt Johnson getanzt. Seine jüngste Arbeit Lineage war bei Riksscenen als Teil des Oslo Internasjonale Teaterfestival 2020 zu sehen. 
Level: Fortgeschritten
In Englischer Sprache
Teilnahme kostenlos
Bewerbung an: leopold@tanzfabrik-berlin.de