Tanzfabrik
Berlin
School
School
School
School
Kreuzberg 4
Möckernstr. 68
10965 Berlin
School
School
Photo: Luna Stage Kramer

Re-Rooting (Waiting list)

Live Workshop with Nora Amin
In the frame of Sommer Tanz 2021

A workshop based on the vocabulary and technics of Raqs-Sharqi/Baladi dance from a feminist perspective. Nora Amin expands her focus on dance as a personal and political statement, by researching and choreographing a series of training sessions that aspire to decolonise what has been labeled by the west as belly dance from the voyeuristic and objectifying gaze, and reformulates it as a holistic practise of re-rooting the body/self, claiming its ownership, healing the shamed sexuality and celebrating identity, embodiment and intimate dance authorship. The workshop is open to women from all dance levels and backgrounds, especially to those who wish to experience dance as an emotional journey, and as a process of self exploration and liberation while having fun at perfecting the craft of pelvic moves.

Please note: The workshop will be held live in the studio under the measures in place at that time. If this is not possible there will be an online version in any case. Therefore, the number of participants is limited. More information about the measures will be continuously updated on the website and communicated by mail shortly before the workshop starts.

Online Event 15.07.2021, 20:00-21:30
Dance of the Prosecuted
Book presentation by Nora Amin

Nora Amin

Nora Amin is an Egyptian performer, choreographer, theatre director, author & dance instructor, living in Berlin. In her choreographic work, as well as in her writing and research, she adopts a feminist perspective and searches for personal authorships and signatures that can transform dance and performance either into a political medium of resistance, or into a field of intersectional healing. Throughout her body of work, she employs critical discourse whether to dismantle colonial patterns that are re-cycled within dance pedagogy and knowledge, or to construct an authentic choreographic language reflecting the identity’s journey through oppression, objectification and shaming. Her recent book “Dance of the Persecuted” reconstructs the history of Baladi dance in Egypt from a feminist perspective linking coloniality with capitalism and patriarchy.
Level: Open
In English
Price: 200/170€*
*Early bird until 01.07.2021
Time zone: CET
Registration

Tanzfabrik
Berlin
Schule
Schule
Schule
Schule
Kreuzberg 4
Möckernstr. 68
10965 Berlin
Schule
Schule
Photo: Luna Stage Kramer

Re-Rooting (Warteliste)

Live Workshop mit Nora Amin
Im Rahmen von Sommer Tanz 2021

Mit  dem Vokabular und der Technik des Raqs-Sharqi/Baladi-Tanzes erweitert Nora Amin aus einer feministischen Perspektive den Fokus auf Tanz als persönliches und politisches Statement. Sie erforscht und choreographiert eine Reihe von Trainingseinheiten, um das, was vom Westen als Bauchtanz bezeichnet wurde, vom voyeuristischen und objektivierenden Blick zu dekolonisieren und es als ganzheitliche Praxis der Wiederverwurzelung des Körpers/Selbst neu zu formulieren. Um Eigentum zu beanspruchen, die beschämte Sexualität zu heilen und Identität, Verkörperung und intime Tanzautorenschaft zu feiern. Der Workshop ist offen für Frauen aller Tanzniveaus und Hintergründe, ist insbesondere für diejenigen, die Tanz als eine emotionale Reise und als einen Prozess der Selbsterforschung und Befreiung erleben wollen, während sie Spaß daran haben, das Handwerk der Beckenbewegungen zu perfektionieren.

Bitte beachten: Der Workshop wird unter den dann geltenden Maßnahmen live im Studio stattfinden. Sollte dies nicht möglich sein wird es in jedem Fall eine Online-Version geben. Daher sind die Teilnehmerzahlen limitiert. Nähere Informationen zu den Maßnahmen werden kontinuierlich auf der Website aktualisiert und kurz vor Beginn des Workshops per Mail kommuniziert.

Online Event 15.07.2021, 20:00-21:30
Tanz der Verfolgten
Buchpräsentation von Nora Amin

Nora Amin

Nora Amin ist eine ägyptische Performerin, Choreografin, Theaterregisseurin, Autorin & Tanzlehrerin, die in Berlin lebt. In ihrer choreografischen Arbeit wie auch in ihrem Schreiben und ihrer Forschung nimmt sie eine feministische Perspektive ein und sucht nach persönlichen Autorschaften und Signaturen, die Tanz und Performance entweder in ein politisches Medium des Widerstands oder in ein Feld intersektionaler Heilung verwandeln können. In ihrem gesamten Werk setzt sie den kritischen Diskurs ein, um koloniale Muster zu demontieren, die in der Tanzpädagogik und im Wissen wiederverwertet werden, oder um eine authentische choreografische Sprache zu konstruieren, die die Reise der Identität durch Unterdrückung, Objektivierung und Beschämung reflektiert. Ihr jüngstes Buch "Dance of the Persecuted" rekonstruiert die Geschichte des Baladi-Tanzes in Ägypten aus einer feministischen Perspektive, die Kolonialität mit Kapitalismus und Patriarchat verbindet.
Level: Offen
In englischer Sprache
Kosten: 200/170€ *
*Frühbucherrabatt bis 01.07.2021
Zeitzone: CET
Anmeldung