Tanzfabrik
Berlin
Stage
Stage
Stage
Stage
Wedding 5
Badstr. 41A, Uferstr. 23
13357 Berlin
Stage
Stage

walk+talk berlin

Solo-Arbeiten / Premiere by Sydney Leoni, Kat Valastur, Maria F. Scaroni, Sebastian Matthias
In the frame of 9. Tanznacht Berlin 2016

“walk+talk” is a lecture performance format in which choreographers use movement and words to present their personal movement language and the diverse sources from which it derives. The words, however, are not meant to explain, nor is the movement meant to illustrate the words. Instead, movement and language are treated as equally important forms of artistic expression that strengthen one another. As these forms converge with their subject, they strive for synergy, intertwine, and, as a result, produce a choreographic tension. “walk+talk” was initiated by Philipp Gehmacher in 2008. The Berlin edition is produced by Tanznacht Berlin in co-operation with Tanz im August.

Further performances in the frame of Tanz im August: 26.08. 20.15, HAU Hebbel am Ufer

By and with: Sidney Leoni, Sebastian Matthias, Maria F. Scaroni, Kat Válastur | Coaching: Philipp Gehmacher | Produced by Tanznacht Berlin in co-operation with Tanz im August. The format walk+talk was initiated in 2008 by Philipp Gehmacher and has been realized thus far by more than 20 artists in Wien, Brüssel, Stockholm and Reykjavík.

Sydney Leoni

coming soon

Kat Valastur

Kat Válastur, is a Berlin-based choreographer and performer. Fragmentation, time lapse, entropy and virtuality are some of the notions that emerge from her dance works, through the creation of a specific fictional force field in which the bodies of the performers are exposed to. As part of her creative process she utilizes personal diagrams, scores drawings and texts that she creates for each work. In 2013-2014, she was an invited artist (grantee) at the Institut für Raumexperimente, an educational research project by Ólafur Elíasson in collaboration with the Berlin University of the Arts (UdK). In the context of the program, she started her research on the new series of choreographies “The marginal sculptures of Newtopia”. The series includes the works “GLAND“ (2014), “Ah! Oh! A contemporary Ritual“ (2014) and was completed in 2016 with the dance piece “OILinity“, a poetic reflection upon the problem on dependence of western societies on crude oil and its consequences on human and nature. The series were co-produced and presented at HAU Hebbel am Ufer. She studied dance at the Hellenic school of dance, at the Trisha Brown studios on a Fulbright scholarship and received a Master degree from the (SODA) Master Program at the Inter-University for Dance in Berlin. Her work is presented internationally.

Maria F. Scaroni

From Italian TV dance productions to release-based and post-modern dance techniques, from contact improvisation to literature studies and theoretical engagement, Maria Francesca Scaroni is moving through the complex network of learning and making dances since 1996. Scaroni’s works focus on the process of collaboration, play with durational experiences and are featured by a crossbreeding between performance, choreography and installation. Recently Maria is involved in researching dance as a possible divination form or Oracle. She created theatrical/installative/durational events with Jess Curtis (The Symmetry Project), with Vania Rovisco (within AADK, The State of Things) and since 2014 meets Frank Willens in Towards Another Miraculous. Since 2011 Maria is creating and touring works with Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods, (Until Our Hearts Stop, Sketches/Notebook, Built To Last) and shares with Meg Stuart and the Berlin dance community the commitment to Improvisation as a performance event. She interprets works by Tino Sehgal and collaborated as dancer/creator in many Berlin independent production (Jeremy Wade, Wilhelm Groener, Hanna Hegenscheidt to mention a few). She teaches in Berlin’s University HZT and is actively involved in forging other independent training programs (P.O.R.C.H. and Smash) where she is developing methodologies focusing on the body as material. With Peter Pleyer she facilitates laboratories around tracking one own’s dance lineage, weaving histories and practicing works from the Judson and Post Judson era. She holds a Masters degree in Italian Modern Literature, with a focus on Media and Communication and a thesis on education and dance.

Sebastian Matthias

Sebastian Matthias studied dance at the Julliard School in New York and Dance Studies at Freie Universität Berlin (MA). His choreographic work fundamentally deals with systems of improvisation, which he develops with his dancers in individual productions at venues including tanhaus nrw and Kampnagel or at institutions such as Theater Luzern and Cullberg Ballett. From 2012-2015, he delved deeper into his approach to artistic research via his dissertation “groove feeling” at the HafenCity University in Hamburg, which he then expanded with participatory processes during the “groove space” performance series.

Tanzfabrik
Berlin
Bühne
Bühne
Bühne
Bühne
Wedding 5
Badstr. 41A, Uferstr. 23
13357 Berlin
Bühne
Bühne

walk+talk berlin

Solo-Arbeiten / Premiere mit Sydney Leoni, Kat Valastur, Maria F. Scaroni, Sebastian Matthias

„walk+talk“ ist ein Lecture-Performance-Format, in dem Choreograf*innen in und mit Bewegungen und Worten ihre Bewegungssprache und deren unterschiedlichsten Quellen zum Thema machen. Dabei erklärt die Sprache nicht und die Bewegung bebildert nicht die Worte: Bewegung und Sprache sind hier gleichrangige künstlerische Ausdrucksformen, welche sich gegenseitig hervorbringen. In der Annäherung an ihr Sujet ringen sie um ein Zusammenspiel, verflechten sich und erzeugen auf diesem Wege choreografische Spannung. „walk+talk“ wurde 2008 von Philipp Gehmacher initiiert. Die Berliner Ausgaben werden produziert von Tanznacht Berlin in Kooperation mit Tanz im August.

Weitere Aufführungen im Rahmen von Tanz im August: 26.08. 20.15, HAU Hebbel am Ufer

Von und mit: Sidney Leoni, Sebastian Matthias, Maria F. Scaroni, Kat Válastur | Coaching: Philipp Gehmacher | Produziert von Tanznacht Berlin in Kooperation mit Tanz im August. Das Format walk+talk wurde 2008 von Philipp Gehmacher initiiert und seitdem in Wien, Brüssel, Stockholm und Reykjavík mit mehr als 20 Künstler*innen realisiert.

Sydney Leoni

kommt demnächst

Kat Valastur

Kat Válastur ist eine Berliner Choreografin und Performerin. Fragmentierung, Zeitraffer, Entropie und Virtualität sind eng mit ihrer Arbeit verknüpfte Aspekte. Grundlage ist dabei die Setzung eines fiktiven Kräftefelds, dem die Körper der Performer ausgesetzt sind. Ihrem Prozess liegen nicht selten Diagramme, Zeichnungen von Scores und Texte zugrunde, die sie individuell für jede Arbeit erstellt. 2013/14 war sie Stipendiatin im Labor für Raumexperimente, einem Projekt von Ólafur Elíasson an der Universität der Künste Berlin, und begann ihre Arbeit an der Choreografiereihe „The marginal Sculptures of Newtopia“, bestehend aus „GLAND“ (2014), „Ah! Oh! A contemporary Ritual“ (2014) und dem letzten Teil der Trilogie „OILinity“ (2016), eine poetische Auseinandersetzung über das Problem der Abhängigkeit westlicher Gesellschaften vom Erdöl und dessen Auswirkungen auf Mensch und Umwelt. Die Arbeiten entstanden in Koproduktion mit dem HAU Hebbel am Ufer Berlin. Válastur studierte Tanz an der Hellenic School of Dance, an den Trisha Brown Studios im Rahmen eines Fulbright-Stipendiums und schloss ihr Studium am HZT Berlin mit einem Master ab. Ihre Arbeiten werden international gezeigt.

Maria F. Scaroni

Von italienischen Fernseh-Tanz-Produktionen bis hin zu release-basierten und postmodern Tanztechniken, von Kontaktimprovisation zum Literaturstudium und zur Auseinandersetzung mit Theorien – Maria Francesca Scaroni bewegt sich seit 1996 in dem komplexen Feld von Lernen und Tanz-Schaffen. Ihre Arbeiten beschäftigen sich mit dem Prozess der Zusammenarbeit, spielen mit durationalen Experimenten und sind gekennzeichnet von einer Mischung aus Performance, Choreografie und Installation. Seit einiger Zeit erkundet Scaroni Tanz als Form der Prophezeiung. Sie veranstaltete theatrale, installative und/oder durationale Events zusammen mit Jess Curtis („The Symmetry Project“), Vania Rovisco („The State of Things“, im Rahmen von AADK) und trifft seit 2014 Frank Willens in „Towards Another Miraculous“. Seit 2011 arbeitet und tourt Scaroni mit Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods („ Until Our Hearts Stop“, „Sketches/Notebook“, „Built To Last“) und teilt mit ihr und der Berliner Tanz-Community die Hingabe an die Kontaktimprovisation in performativen Events. Als Performerin war sie in Arbeiten von Tino Sehgal und von Berliner Künstler*innen zu sehen (wie z.B. Jeremy Wade, WILHELM GROENER, Hanna Hegenscheidt). Sie unterrichtet am HZT Berlin und ist aktiv in die Entwicklung alternativer Ausbildungsprogramme P.O.R.C.H. und Smash) eingebunden, in denen sie Methoden erarbeitet, die den Körper als Material betrachten. Mit Peter Pleyer initiiert sie Laboratorien, um die eigene Tanzlinie aufzuspüren, um an der Geschichte zu weben und Arbeiten aus der Judson und Post-Judson-Ära zu praktizieren. Sie hat einen Masterabschluss in neuer italienischer Literatur (Schwerpunkt Medien und Kommunikation) und einen Abschluss in Pädagogik und Tanz.

Sebastian Matthias

Sebastian Matthias studierte Tanz an der Juilliard School in New York und Tanzwissenschaft an der FU Berlin (MA). Seine choreografische Arbeit basiert auf modularen Improvisationssystemen. Diese entwickelt er mit seinen Tänzer*innen in freien Produktionen u.a. am tanzhaus nrw, bei Kampnagel Hamburg oder Institutionen wie dem Theater Luzern und dem Cullberg Ballett. Von 2012-2015 vertiefte er seinen Ansatz zur künstlerischen Forschung in seiner Dissertation „groove feeling“ an der HafenCity Universität Hamburg und weitete ihn innerhalb der „groove space“ Performanceserie auf partizipative Prozesse aus.