Tanzfabrik
Berlin
Stage
Stage
Stage
Stage
Kreuzberg 1
Möckernstr. 68
10965 Berlin
Stage
Stage

Reading between the Lines

Talks & Improvisationen with Adam Benjamin, Rick Nodine, Jamie McCarthy, Gabriele Reuter

An afternoon of conversations and scores around improvisation in performance with Adam Benjamin, Rick Nodine, Jamie McCarthy and Gabriele Reuter.

Adam Benjamin

Adam Benjamin (UK) is a choreographer, author and one of the pioneers of integrated dance. His book Making an Entrance. Theory and practice for disabled and non-disabled dancers (Routledge 2002) is considered a seminal text. He has received numerous awards including a London TimeOut performance award, the Sainsbury’s award for education, a National Teaching Fellowship. He has been an Associate Artist at The Place, a Wingate Scholar, a Rayne Choreographic Fellow, recipient of an Arts Council International Artist Fellowship and was named a Change Maker by the South Bank Centre in 2015. He was joint founder of CandoCo Dance Company and a founding member of 5 Men Dancing. His most recent choreographic work is Marked for Exim Dance Company. He has taught and performed with a.o. Russell Maliphant, Kirstie Simson, Jordi Cortés and Gabriele Reuter. www.adambenjamin.co.uk

 

Rick Nodine

Rick Nodine (UK) began dancing socially and the first technical form to channel his enthusiasm was Contact Improvisation. He performed through the 90's for British Contemporary dance companies. He started teaching CI at London Contemporary Dance School in 2001, expanding his teaching range to now include composition, performance and voice/movement techniques. As a choreographer Nodine has made work for many contexts, including major Opera houses, small theatres, art galleries, text based theatre, touring dance companies and warehouse parties. As guest teacher Rick has taught in over 30 cities in 11 different countries and has led company class for many companies including Rambert Dance Company, Punchdrunk and DV8.

Jamie McCarthy

Jamie McCarthy (UK) studied music and composition with the composer Gavin Bryars and has worked for many years performing and composing music in a wide variety of situations with a primary focus on music for dance, cross-artform work and collaboration. He has for many years taught music and voice at London Contemporary Dance School and was also lucky enough to spend seven joyful years touring the world as a violinist with Queer Canadian Band the Hidden Cameras.

Gabriele Reuter

Gabriele Reuter is a choreographer/performer and urbanist. At the heart of her artistic practice and teaching is an ongoing interest in improvisation on stage and in life. In this context she has collaborated and performed with many artists in the field and initiated a range of performance events. As a facilitator and moderator she supports transformation process of teams and organisations through applied improvisation, using frameworks and approaches from Design Thinking, Agile/Scrum. Gabriele taught Contact Improvisation, Contemporary Dance, Composition in dance institutions and universities internationally since 2003. Her choreographic works and interdisciplinary projects were shown internationally at festivals such as nottdance Nottingham, Springdance festival Utrecht, SpringLoaded at The Place London and idans Istanbul. Gabriele co-lead the workshop programme of Tanzfabrik Berlin between 2009-18. www.gabrielereuter.de
 

Free Admission
In English

Tanzfabrik
Berlin
Bühne
Bühne
Bühne
Bühne
Kreuzberg 1
Möckernstr. 68
10965 Berlin
Bühne
Bühne

Reading between the Lines

Talks & Improvisationen mit Adam Benjamin, Rick Nodine, Jamie McCarthy, Gabriele Reuter

Gespräche und Experimente zum Thema Improvisation als Performancepraxis mit Adam Benjamin, Rick Nodine, Jamie McCarthy und Gabriele Reuter.

Adam Benjamin

Adam Benjamin (UK) ist Choreograf, Autor und einer der Pioniere des integrierten Tanzes. Sein Buch Making an Entrance. Theory and practice for disabled and non-disabled dancers (Routledge 2002) gilt als bahnbrechend. Er hat zahlreiche Auszeichnungen erhalten, darunter den Londoner TimeOut-Performance-Preis, den Sainsbury's-Preis für Bildung und ein National Teaching Fellow. Er war Associate Artist bei The Place, ein Wingate- und ein Rayne Choreographic Stipendiat und erhielt ein Arts Council International Artist Fellowship. 2015 wurde er vom South Bank Centre zum Change Maker ernannt. Er war Mitbegründer der CandoCo Dance Company und Gründungsmitglied von 5 Men Dancing. Seine jüngste choreografische Arbeit ist Marked für die Exim Dance Company. Er unterrich- tete und trat u.a. mit Russell Maliphant, Kirstie Simson, Jordi Cortés und Gabriele Reuter auf. www.adambenjamin.co.uk

Rick Nodine

Rick Nodine (GB). Rick entdeckte sein Interesse für Tanz in Clubs und auf Parties und fand dann in der Contact Improvisation die erste technische Tanzform, um sich weiterzuentwickeln. Er tanzte in den 90er Jahre für verschiedene Britische Zeitgenössische Tanzkompanien und unterrichtet seit 2001 an der London Contemporary Dance School, zunächst CI und inzwischen auch Komposition, Perfor- mance und Stimm- und Bewegungstechniken. Als Choreograf hat er in verschiedensten Kontexten gearbeitet; große Opernhäuser, kleine Theater, Tanzkompanien und Warehouse Parties. Als Gast- dozent hat Rick in über 30 Städten und 11 Ländern und für zahlreiche Kompanien unterrichtet, u.a. Rambert Dance Company, Punchdrunk und DV8.

Jamie McCarthy

Jamie McCarthy (GB) studierte Musik und Komposition bei dem Komponisten Gavin Bryars und hat viele Jahre lang Musik gespielt und komponiert, vor allem mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Musik für Tanz, interdisziplinäre künstlerische Arbeit und Kollaboration. Er hat mehrere Jahre lang Musik und Gesang an der London Contemporary Dance School unterrichtet und hatte das Glück, sieben Jahre als Geiger mit der Queer Canadian Band the Hidden Cameras durch die Welt zu touren.

Gabriele Reuter

Gabriele Reuter ist Choreografin / Performerin und Urbanistin. Im Zentrum ihrer künstlerischen Praxis und Lehre steht die Liebe zur Improvisation als Bühnenkunst und Lebenseinstellung. In diesem Zusammenhang hat sie mit vielen namhaften Künstler*innen zusammengearbeitet und performt und eine Reihe von Performance-Events initiiert. Als Faciliatorin und Moderatorin unterstützt sie Transformationsprozesse von Teams und Organisationen durch angewandte Improvisation mit Ansätzen aus Design Thinking, Agile/Scrum. Gabriele unterrichtete seit 2003 international Kontaktimprovisation, Zeitgenössischen Tanz und Komposition an Tanzinstitutionen und Universitäten. Ihre choreografischen Arbeiten und interdisziplinären Projekte wurden international auf Festivals wie nottdance Nottingham, dem Springdance Festival Utrecht, SpringLoaded at The Place London und idans Istanbul gezeigt. Gabriele war von 2009 - 2018 Co-Leiterin des Workshop-Programms der Tanzfabrik Berlin. www.gabrielereuter.de

Eintritt frei
In Englischer Sprache