Tanzfabrik
Berlin
Stage
Stage
Stage
Stage
Wedding 5
Badstr. 41A, Uferstr. 23
13357 Berlin
Stage
Stage
Photo: Nikos Stavlas

apap production studio berlin: Time to Meet - Julia Schwarzbach

Work in Progress by Julia Schwarzbach

"Time to Meet" is a series of open rehearsals and discussions, a meeting place for exchange and feedback on artistic processes, this time with the artist Julia Schwarzbach.

In this new project, Julia and dancer Emmi Väisänen, accompanied by performer/musician Nic Lloyd, inhabit a space of shifting terrains where they work to access diverse possible worlds: desert, ice floe, lone hut high in the mountains, the edge of a great plain, tectonic plates beneath our feet. They are alone together in a space of intimate separation, distanced proximity, and lone navigation. As they move on the space folds and unfolds, bends and curves, elongates and telescopes, blurring distinctions between distant pasts, possible futures, and alternative presents. Julia´s projects explore ideas and forms of co-existence, being-with and functional equality: between performers, spectators/participants, and physical materials, creating spaces of deceleration and intimite atmospheres. Accompanied by dance scientist Anna Leon we invite you to join us in this current state of the process and to talk together.

Concept, Performance, Choreography: Julia Schwarzbach | Performance, Choreography: Emmi Väisänen | Sound: Nic Lloyd | Dramaturgical accompaniment: Anna Leon | Space/materials: Ragna Heiny | Production: Katharina Frieda Meier | Supported by Kultur Stadt Salzburg, Kultur Land Salzburg, tanz_house Salzburg | Coproduction: Toihaus Theater Salzburg, Tanzfabrik Berlin in the frame of apap performing europe 2020.

Julia Schwarzbach

Julia Schwarzbach is a dancer and choreographer based in Salzburg. Since 2016 she is part of the network apap-Performing Europe 2020 by SZENE Salzburg. Over the last 10 years she has collaborated with artists such as Sasha Waltz, Tania Bruguera, Ivana Müller, Gill Clark, Rosalind Crisp, Zoe Knights, Barbara Bess, Claudia Heu and LaborGras. Since 2009 she creates her own work. "loops and breaks" (2012-) began as a research project in Austria and Germany, exploring and testing the relationship between performer and audience - an ongoing interest. The show toured the UK and Spain in 2014, playing venues such as Barbican London, Matadero Madrid, Traverse Theatre Edinburgh. In 2014 Julia initiated the interdisciplinary performance collective under construction. The group showed their first work at Sommerszene 2015 and collaborates with guests like Silke Bake, Martin Nachbar and Claudia Heu. The same year Julia choreographed a work on the Yugsamas movement collective and conducted a research residency at Impulstanz Vienna with performer and DJ Nic Lloyd. Born out of this research Julia and Nic keep developing the duet `Recreation` (2016-). For Toihaus Theatre Salzburg Julia creates and tours performances for young audiences all around the globe. She graduated from SEAD Salzburg and holds an MA in Performance and Creative Research from Roehampton University London. Her practice is informed by an interest in experiential anatomy and somatic practices like Kleintechnique and BMC, looking at the structures and architectures of the body and questioning ideas of natural and built (human) environments.

Free Admission

Tanzfabrik
Berlin
Bühne
Bühne
Bühne
Bühne
Wedding 5
Badstr. 41A, Uferstr. 23
13357 Berlin
Bühne
Bühne
Photo: Nikos Stavlas

apap production studio berlin: Time to Meet - Julia Schwarzbach

Work in Progress mit Julia Schwarzbach

"Time to Meet" ist eine Reihe von offenen Proben und Gesprächen, ein Begegnungsort für Austausch und Feedback über künstlerische Prozesse, dieses Mal mit der Künstlerin Julia Schwarzbach.

In diesem neuen Projekt befinden sich Julia Schwarzbach und die Tänzerin Emmi Väisänen - begleitet von dem Performer und Musiker Nic Lloyd - auf stetig wechselnden Terrains. Es ist der Versuch, einen Raum entstehen zu lassen, der alles mögliche sein könnten: Wüste, Eisscholle, eine einsame Hütte hoch oben in den Bergen, der Rand einer großen Ebene, oder tektonische Platten unter unseren Füssen. Sie sind zusammen allein, in einer intimen Atmosphäre aus Nähe, Abschottung und einsamen Navigierens. Während sie sich fortbewegen, faltet und entfaltet sich dieser Raum, biegt und verlängert sich und verwischt die Grenzen zwischen ferner Vergangenheit, möglicher Zukunft und alternativer Gegenwart. In ihren Arbeiten setzt sich Julia mit Ideen und Formen von Ko-Existenz und Zusammensein zwischen Performern, Publikum und Materialen auseinander und schafft Räume der Entschleunigung und intimer Atmosphären. Begleitet von der Tanzwissenschaftlerin Anna Leon laden wir ein, gemeinsam in den momentanen Stand des Arbeitsmaterials einzutauchen und darüber ins Gespräch zu gehen.

Konzept, Performance, Choreografie: Julia Schwarzbach | Performance, Choreografie: Emmi Väisänen | Sound: Nic Lloyd | Dramaturgische Begleitung: Anna Leon | Raum/Material: Ragna Heiny | Produktion: Katharina Frieda Meier | Unterstützt von Kultur Stadt Salzburg, Kultur Land Salzburg, tanz_house Salzburg | Koproduktion: Toihaus Theater Salzburg, Tanzfabrik Berlin im Rahmen von apap performing europe 2020.

Julia Schwarzbach

Julia Schwarzbach arbeitet und lebt als Tänzerin und Choreografin in Salzburg und ist seit 2016 Künstlerin im Netzwerk apap - Performing Europe 2020 der SZENE Salzburg. In den letzten 10 Jahren hat sie mit Künstler*innen wie Sasha Waltz, Tania Bruguera, Ivana Müller, Gill Clark, Rosalind Crisp, Zoe Knights, Barbara Bess, Claudia Heu und LaborGras zusammengearbeitet und entwickelt seit 2009 eigene Stücke. Ihre Arbeit “loops and breaks” (2012), in der sie Beziehungen und Dynamiken zwischen Performer und Publikum testet, startete als Research-Projekt in Österreich und Deutschland und tourte 2014 durch England und Spanien, u. a. an Häuser wie das Barbican London, Matadero Madrid, Traverse Theatre Edinburgh. 2014 initiierte Julia das interdisziplinär arbeitende Kollektiv under construction in Salzburg. Die Gruppe zeigte eine erste Arbeit bei der Sommerszene 2015 und steht im Austausch mit Gästen wie Silke Bake, Martin Nachbar und Claudia Heu. Im selben Jahr choreografierte Julia ein Stück mit dem Yugsamas Movement Collective und führte im Rahmen von Impulstanz ein Research-Projekt mit dem Performer und DJ Nic Lloyd durch. Weiterführend dazu entwickeln beide seit 2016 das Duett “Recreation”. Für das Toihaus Theater Salzburg spielt Julia Produktionen für die Allerkleinsten und tourt damit weltweit. Sie absolvierte das SEAD Salzburg und einen Master in Performance und Creative Research an der Roehampton Universität London. Ihre Tanzpraxis und Arbeiten sind beeinflußt von der Auseinandersetzung mit somatic practices wie Kleintechnik und BMC.

Eintritt frei