Tanzfabrik
Berlin
Stage
Stage
Stage
Stage
Wedding 14
Badstr. 41A, Uferstr. 23
13357 Berlin
Stage
Stage
Foto: Begum Erciyas

Hypnosis

Performance by Begüm Erciyas
In the frame of 8th Tanznacht Berlin 2014

Throughout the history of hypnosis the body was continuously employed as the object of scientific inquiry and was the subject of spectacular performance demonstrations. Begüm Erciyas traces this history and in doing so reflects on the hypnotic condition of presence-absence and what it produces on stage. In contradiction to the widespread belief that hypnosis is like sleep, recent research suggests that it is rather a waking condition of focused attention and suggestibility. Using hypnotic suggestion, Hypnosis takes performer and public on imaginary journeys, interwoven with moments of collective memory. How do we deal with questions of authenticity and fabrication when we can only experience worldwide events through the media? How do we deal with the permanent state of unknowing? Hypnosis explores hopes and failures and searches for insights behind appearances and in the body.

Choreography: Begüm ErciyasPerformers: Hermann Heisig, Nils Ulber, Joséphine Evrard.Lighting design: Henning Eggers. Hypnosis advisor: Rosemarie Dypka. Production: Barbara Greiner, Ann-Kathrin Reimers. HYPNOSIS is a Begüm Erciyas production supported by the Berlin Major’s Office – Chancellery of the Berlin Senate Cultural Department. The first version (“The Lake” 2011) was co-produced by Kampnagel Hamburg and supported by the Hamburg Department of Culture, PACT Zollverein and the Theater School /AHK Amsterdam.

Begüm Erciyas

Begüm Erciyas studied molecular biology and genetics in Ankara, where she became a member of [Laboratuar], a performing arts project and research group. She graduated from the Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance (SEAD). In 2006, she received the danceWEB scholarship and since then has been an active member of Sweet and Tender Collaborations. Begüm Erciyas was resident at the Akademie Schloss Solitude, at the K3 – Centre for Choreography in Hamburg and at Tanzwerkstatt Berlin. In 2014, she was a fellow at Villa Kamogawa / Goethe-Institut Kyoto. Her recent works include “Ballroom” (2010), “MATCH” (2011), “this piece is still to come” (2012), and “A Speculation” (2014).  http://www.begumerciyas.com

Berlin-Premier

Tanzfabrik
Berlin
Bühne
Bühne
Bühne
Bühne
Wedding 14
Badstr. 41A, Uferstr. 23
13357 Berlin
Bühne
Bühne
Foto: Begum Erciyas

Hypnosis

Performance mit Begüm Erciyas

In der Geschichte der Hypnose diente der Körper stets als Objekt für wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse und war Vor- und Aufführungssubjekt spektakulärer Untersuchungskünste. Begüm Erciyas geht diesen historischen Pfaden nach, um über den präsent-abwesenden Zustand und dessen Bühnenwirksamkeit zu reflektieren. Entgegen dem verbreiteten Glauben, dass Hypnose dem Schlaf gleicht, behauptet die aktuelle Forschung sie als wachsamen Zustand fokussierter Aufmerksamkeit und Beeinflussbarkeit. HYPNOSIS führt Performer und Publikum durch hypnotische Suggestionen auf imaginäre Reisen, durchsetzt von Momenten kollektiver Erinnerung. Wie gehen wir mit Fragen nach „Echtheit“ und „Fälschung“ um, wenn Weltereignisse nurmehr über Medien erlebbar sind? Wie mit dem permanenten „Nicht-Wissen“? HYPNOSIS thematisiert Wunsch und Versagen und sucht nach Einblicken hinter Fassaden und in den Körper.

Choreografie Begüm Erciyas Performance: Hermann Heisig, Nils Ulber, Joséphine EvrardLichtdesign: Henning Eggers Hypnoseberatung: Rosemarie Dypka Produktionsleitung: Barbara Greiner, Ann-Kathrin Reimers

HYPNOSIS ist eine Produktion von Begüm Erciyas gefördert aus Mitteln des Regierenden Bürgermeisters von Berlin – Senatskanzlei Kulturelle Angelegenheiten. Die erste Version („The Lake“ 2011) wurde koproduziert von Kampnagel Hamburgund gefördert durch die Kulturbehörde Hamburg, PACT Zollverein und die Theatherschool/AHK Amsterdam.

Begüm Erciyas

Begüm Erciyas studierte Molekularbiologie und Genetik in Ankara, wo sie Mitglied von [Laboratuar], einer Projekt- und Forschungsgruppe für darstellende Kunst wurde. Sie machte ihren Abschluss an der Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance (SEAD). 2006 erhielt sie das danceWEB Stipendium und ist seitdem aktives Mitglied von Sweet and Tender Collaborations. Begüm Erciyas war Residentin an der Akademie Schloss Solitude, am K3 – Zentrum für Choreografie, Hamburg, an der Tanzwerkstatt Berlin und in der Villa Kamogawa / Goethe-Institut Kyoto. Zu ihren letzten Arbeiten zählen „Ballroom“ (2010), „MATCH“ (2011), „this piece is still to come“ (2012) und „Eine Spekulation / A Speculation“ (2014). http://www.begumerciyas.com

Berlin-Premiere