Twists: Dance and Decoloniality

A Critical Research on Dance Institutions by Tanzfabrik Berlin in Cooperation with ada Studio, HZT Berlin, Uferstudios, Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, advised by Diversity Arts Culture.

The project »Twists: Dance and Decolonialtiy« is systematically addressing questions regarding the impact of colonialism on dance and its consequences. Following the example of Tanzfabrik Berlin, ada Studio, HZT and Uferstudios, the artists Choy Ka Fai, Jay Pather, Lia Rodrigues, and Jessica Lauren Elizabeth Taylor consider existing and persistent instances of hermetically sealed hegemonies, racism and exclusions in the production of dance. Deeply aware of the dangers of decoloniality as a trend, this research intensive approach aims to be rigorous and critical. The project brings together current knowledges from a wide variety of disciplines and is composed of multiple workshops, field research, a symposium as well as a publi cation. Aiming to be accessible, direct and interactive as well as sustainable one of the project’s final outcomes will see the development of manuals. These will serve as a source for the various impulses and findings to be transferred to wider publics engendering discussions towards an ethically responsible approach to international entanglements in the field of dance.

↪ PHASE #1
The originally planned public workshop from April 14 - 18, 2020 (workshop details) with Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro, Tahir Della, Yvette Mutumba, Jay Pather and Rolando Vázquez has to be postponed due to the current situation. Further information will follow.

Keep your chin up!

↪ PHASE #2
Over the course of a three-week period of field research in the fall of 2020 and an additional workshop, the artists will conduct research into (post) colonial and Euro-centrically influenced structural conditions at the cultural institutions of Uferstudios.

↪ PHASE #3
On November 7 and 8, 2020, renowned experts will be invited to a public symposium at Uferstudios to explore methodical / theoretical as well as practical artistic considerations for the decolonization of dance institutions.

↪ PHASE #4
A publication about the project is intended to be published by the end of the year 2021.

Funded by Hauptstadtkulturfonds | Project Team: Tanzfabrik Berlin: Juan Gabriel Harcha, Elisabeth Leopold, Felicitas Zeeden, Ludger Orlok (responible) in cooperation with the project initiator Sigrid Gareis. Artist Core Group: Choy Ka Fai, Jay Pather, Lia Rodrigues and Jessica Lauren, Elizabeth Taylor, Kollektiv Suddenly: Johanna Ackva, Camille Chapon, Forough Fami, Magdalena Meindl, Lyllie Rouvière, Grete Smitaite, Sunayana Shetty, Hanna Kritten Tangsoo, Freie Universität: Prof. Dr. Gabriele Brandstetter, Humboldt Universität: Prof. Dr. Silvy Chakkalakal

Location: Tanzfabrik Berlin/Wedding - Uferstudios
 

twists Grafik: eps51++

Twists: Dance and Decoloniality

Eine kritische Recherche über Tanzinstitutionen von und mit Tanzfabrik Berlin in Kooperation mit ada Studio, HZT Berlin, Uferstudios, Freie Universität, Humboldt Universität und Universität Salzburg, beraten von Diversity Arts Culture.

Das Projekt »Twists: Dance and Decoloniality« wirft systematisch die Frage nach den Auswirkungen des Kolonialismus im Tanz auf. Am Beispiel der Tanzfabrik Berlin sowie von ada Studio, HZT Berlin und Uferstudios werden in einer institutionskritischen Recherche der Künstler*innen Choy Ka Fai, Jay Pather, Lia Rodrigues, und Jessica Lauren Elizabeth Taylor bestehende Hegemonien, Rassismen und Exklusionen innerhalb der etablierten Produktionsbedingungen im Tanz aufgezeigt. Das Projekt trägt aktuelles Wissen aus verschiedenen Disziplinen zusammen und beinhaltet mehrere Workshops, eine Feldforschung, ein Symposium und eine Publikation. Nachhaltig und jenseits von Moden konzipiert ist es Ziel des Projekts, konkrete Handlungsanleitungen zu entwickeln. Diese sollen im Dialog auf Augen höhe Impulse für eine ethisch verantwortliche Globalisierung im Tanz setzen und für eine breite Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht werden.

↪ PHASE #1
Die ursprünglich geplanten öffentlichen Workshops vom 14. - 18. April 2020 (Workshopinformationen) mit Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro, Tahir Della, Yvette Mutumba, Jay Pather und Rolando Vázquez mussten auf Grund der aktuellen Situation verschoben werden. Nähere Informationen folgen.

↪ PHASE #2
In einer 3-wöchigen Feldforschung im Herbst 2020 und einem weiteren Workshop erforschen Künstler*innen (post)koloniale und eurozentrisch begründete strukturelle Bedingungen in den Kultureinrichtungen der Uferstudios.

↪ PHASE #3
Am 7. und 8. November 2020 erörtern namhafte Expert* innen in einem öffentlichen Symposium in den Uferstudios methodisch-theoretische und kunstpraktische Überlegungen zur Dekolonisierung von Tanzinstitutionen.

↪ PHASE #4
Voraussichtlich Ende 2021 erscheint eine Publikation zum Projekt.

Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds | Projektteam: Tanzfabrik Berlin: Juan Gabriel Harcha, Elisabeth Leopold, Felicitas Zeeden, Ludger Orlok (verantwortlich), zusammen mit der Projektinitiatorin Sigrid Gareis. Artist Core Group: Choy Ka Fai, Jay Pather, Lia Rodrigues und Jessica Lauren Elizabeth Taylor, Kollektiv Suddenly: Johanna Ackva, Camille Chapon, Forough Fami, Magdalena Meindl, Lyllie Rouvière, Grete Smitaite, Sunayana Shetty, Hanna Kritten Tangsoo, Freie Universität: Prof. Dr. Gabriele Brandstetter, Humboldt Universität: Prof. Dr. Silvy Chakkalakal, Universität Salzburg: Nicole Haitzinger.

Ort: Tanzfabrik Berlin/Wedding - Uferstudios

 

 

twists Grafik: eps51++