Tanzfabrik
Berlin
Stage
Stage

Twists: Dance and Decoloniality

 »Twists: Dance and Decoloniality« is A Critical Research on Dance Institutions by Tanzfabrik Berlin in Cooperation with ada Studio, HZT Berlin, Uferstudios, Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt Universität zu Berlin and Universität Salzburg, advised by Diversity Arts Culture.
The project »Twists: Dance and Decolonialtiy« is systematically addressing questions regarding the impact of colonialism on dance and its consequences. Following the example of Tanzfabrik Berlin, ada Studio, HZT and Uferstudios, the artists Choy Ka Fai, Jay Pather,  and Lia Rodrigues, consider existing and persistent instances of hermetically sealed hegemonies, racism and exclusions in the production of dance. Deeply aware of the dangers of decoloniality as a trend, this research intensive approach aims to be rigorous and critical. The project brings together current knowledges from a wide variety of disciplines and is composed of multiple workshops, field research, a symposium as well as a publication. Aiming to be accessible, direct and interactive as well as sustainable one of the project’s final outcomes will see the development of manuals. These will serve as a source for the various impulses and findings to be transferred to wider publics engendering discussions towards an ethically responsible approach to international entanglements in the field of dance.

Location: Tanzfabrik Berlin/Wedding - Uferstudios

Funded by Hauptstadtkulturfonds 

Actual status

The Symposium of the project Twists: Dance and Decoloniality, planned for November 7th and 8th, will not take place as planned due to internal structural problems and the actual Covid-19 Pandemic situation. A restructuring of the project is underway and a new co-organizer has stepped into the project: the Initiative Schwarze Menschen in Deutschland Bund e.V. (Initiative of Black People in Germany).

In the last few months, while implementing the project as planned, Tanzfabrik Berlin and the curator Sigrid Gareis – both responsible for Twists - had to acknowledge that a decolonization process needs much more time for the profound treatment of structural racisms in our "white institutions". It became clear that blind spots and structural exclusion mechanisms that Twists wanted to address were reproduced within the project structure – which also led to a member of the artist core group leaving the project.
 
As a consequence, Tanzfabrik Berlin started a process to illuminate its own deficiencies on several levels levels accompanied by different mentors and supervisors.

At the same time the participating artists (Choy Ka Fay, Jay Pather, Lia Rodrigues), scientists (Silvy Chakkalakal, Sophie Schultze-Allen and Laura Strott) and Sigrid Gareis decided to plan together with the Initiative Schwarze Menschen in Deutschland Bund e.V. a marathon format of "radical listening" to BIPoC positions in dance in order to make the general demands, wishes and expectations of non-white dance professionals clear and public. The Workshop series will be continued.

The realization of the project will now be extended through the whole of 2021. We will keep you informed about the new formats, schedules and plans!

Residency

Currently Suddenly dance collective and Natsuko Tezuka are in residency in Tanzfabrik Berlin in the frame of the Twists project. Suddenly invited Natsuko Tezuka to collaborate on a research project focusing on one of her previous works Anatomical Experiment-6 / departure from distorted image (2012). This piece is part of a larger series called Anatomical Experiment that she has been developing since 2001. The first version of the work was created in Japan with 6 Japanese performers. Residing in Tanzfabrik Berlin, 8 artists of the Suddenly international collective and Natsuko Tezuka revisit Anatomical Experiment-6 / departure from a distorted image.

Tanzfabrik
Berlin
Bühne
Bühne

Twists: Dance and Decoloniality

»Twists: Dance and Decoloniality« ist eine kritische Recherche über Tanzinstitutionen von und mit Tanzfabrik Berlin in Kooperation mit ada Studio, HZT Berlin, Uferstudios, Freie Universität, Humboldt Universität und Universität Salzburg, beraten von Diversity Arts Culture.

Das Projekt »Twists: Dance and Decoloniality« wirft systematisch die Frage nach den Auswirkungen des Kolonialismus im Tanz auf. Am Beispiel der Tanzfabrik Berlin sowie von ada Studio, HZT Berlin und Uferstudios werden in einer institutionskritischen Recherche der Künstler*innen Choy Ka Fai, Jay Pather  und Lia Rodrigues bestehende Hegemonien, Rassismen und Exklusionen innerhalb der etablierten Produktionsbedingungen im Tanz aufgezeigt. Das Projekt trägt aktuelles Wissen aus verschiedenen Disziplinen zusammen und beinhaltet mehrere Workshops, eine Feldforschung, ein Symposium und eine Publikation. Nachhaltig und jenseits von Moden konzipiert ist es Ziel des Projekts, konkrete Handlungsanleitungen zu entwickeln. Diese sollen im Dialog auf Augen höhe Impulse für eine ethisch verantwortliche Globalisierung im Tanz setzen und für eine breite Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht werden.

Ort: Tanzfabrik Berlin/Wedding - Uferstudios

Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds

Aktueller Stand

Das Symposium des Projekts Twists: Dance and Decoloniality, das für den 7. und 8. November geplant war, wird aufgrund interner struktureller Probleme und der aktuellen Covid-19-Pandemiesituation nicht wie geplant stattfinden. Eine Umstrukturierung des Projekts ist im Gange und ein neuer Mitveranstalter ist in das Projekt eingetreten: die Initiative Schwarze Menschen in Deutschland Bund e.V.
 
Für die Tanzfabrik Berlin und die Kuratorin Sigrid Gareis - beide verantwortlich für Twists – hat sich in den letzten Monaten gezeigt, dass ein Dekolonisierungsprozess deutlich mehr Zeit für die tiefgreifende Auseinandersetzung mit strukturellen Rassismen in unseren "weißen Institutionen" benötigt. Es wurde deutlich, dass blinde Flecken und strukturelle Ausschlussmechanismen, die Twists thematisieren wollte, innerhalb der Projektstruktur reproduziert wurden - was auch dazu führte, dass ein Mitglied der artist core group das Projekt verlassen hat.
 
Infolgedessen hat die Tanzfabrik Berlin einen Prozess in Gang gesetzt, um die eigenen Defizite auf mehreren Ebenen zu beleuchten, begleitet von verschiedenen Mentor*innen und Supervisor*innen.
 
Gleichzeitig beschlossen die beteiligten Künstler*innen (Choy Ka Fay, Jay Pather, Lia Rodrigues), Wissenschaftlerinnen (Silvy Chakkalakal, Sophie Schultze-Allen und Laura Strott) und Sigrid Gareis, gemeinsam mit der Initiative Schwarze Menschen in Deutschland Bund e.V. ein Marathonformat des " radical listening " zu BIPoC-Positionen im Tanz zu planen, um die allgemeinen Forderungen, Wünsche und Erwartungen nicht-weißer Tanzschaffender deutlich und öffentlich zu machen. Die Workshop-Reihe wird fortgesetzt.
 
Die Realisierung des Projektes wird nun auf das gesamte Jahr 2021 ausgedehnt. Wir werden Sie und Euch über die neuen Formate, Termine und Pläne auf dem Laufenden halten!

Residenz

Zurzeit sind das Suddenly Tanzkollektiv und Natsuko Tezuka im Rahmen des Twists-Projekts in der Tanzfabrik Berlin zu Gast. Suddenly lud Natsuko Tezuka zur Mitarbeit an einem Forschungsprojekt ein, das sich auf  Tezukas frühere Arbeit Anatomical Experiment-6 / departure from distorted image (2012) bezieht. Diese Arbeit ist Teil einer größeren Serie mit dem Titel Anatomical Experiment , die sie seit 2001 entwickelt. Die erste Version der Arbeit entstand in Japan mit 6 japanischen Darsteller*innen. In der Tanzfabrik Berlin nehmen 8 Künstler*innen des internationalen Kollektivs Suddenly und Natsuko Tezuka Anatomical Experiment-6 / departure from a distorted image wieder auf.